Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Bibliographies on the piano and its repertoire
Guide to the Pianist's Repertoire, Fourth Edition by Guide to the Pianist's Repertoire continues to be the go-to source for piano performers, teachers, and students. Newly updated and expanded with over 250 new composers, this incomparable resource expertly guides readers to solo piano literature. What did a given composer write? What interesting work have I never heard of? How difficult is it? What are its special musical features? How can I reach the publisher? It's all here. Featuring information for more than 2,000 composers, the fourth edition includes enhanced indexes. The new "Hinson" will be an indispensable guide for many years to come.
Call Number: Ref. ML128.P3 H665 2014
Publication Date: 2013
Handbuch der Klavierliteratur zu vier Händen an einem Instrument by Schier unermesslich ist die Literatur für Klavier zu vier Händen, ebenso groß die Zahl der Klavierspieler, die sich mit Begeisterung dem vierhändigen Klavierspiel widmen, sei es im Konzert, im Unterricht oder einfach zum Vergnügen. Die ersten Stücke entstanden bereits im Frühbarock, und der Bogen der reichhaltigen Literatur spannt sich über Diabelli, Mozart, Beethoven, Brahms und Schubert bis hin zu Strawinsky und Ligeti. Bis heute wird eifrig für diese Besetzung komponiert. Dieses Handbuch schließt eine Lücke, denn bisher gab es - abgesehen von kleineren Aufsätzen - keine Gesamtdarstellung des Themas. Alle wichtigen Kompositionen und Komponisten werden ausführlich besprochen und kommentiert. Verlage und Quellen sind ebenso selbstverständlich aufgeführt wie Angaben zum Schwierigkeitsgrad. Zahlreiche Notenbeispiele helfen geben zusätzliche Informationen. Ein umfangreiches Kompendium und Nachschlagewerk, das in die Hand jedes Klavierliebhabers, -spielers und -pädagogen gehört. Klaus Börner, wirkte als Professor für Klavier und Klavierdidaktik an der Musikhochschulen in Düsseldorf und Mainz. Er ist ein ausgewiesener Kenner der Klavierliteratur und hat sich über Jahrzehnte als konzertierender Künstler und Pädagoge mit vierhändiger Klaviermusik beschäftigt.
Call Number: Ref. ML128.P3 B736 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Handbuch der Klavierliteratur: Klaviermusik zu zwei Händen by Für kein anderes Musikinstrument wurde so viel komponiert, kein anderes Instrument spielt eine so fundamentale Rolle im Konzertleben, aber auch in der Musikerziehung, wie das Klavier. Was das Buch auszeichnet, ist der Mut, zu allen Werken des 15.-20. Jahrhunderts eine kurze Charakteristik zu geben und subjektive, teils auch kritische Einschätzungen nicht zu meiden. Gerade dies hilft dem Benutzer, aus der Fülle der Klaviereditionen herauszufiltern, was wichtig ist, was künstlerischen Anspruch zeigt. Bei wichtigen Komponisten wagt der Autor eine Interpretation und Würdigung des jeweiligen Gesamtwerkes im Hinblick auf die Entwicklung der Klaviermusik und gibt auch Hinweise zur Quellenlage und zu den Editionskriterien der verfügbaren Ausgaben. Das für den Pianisten, den Klavierpädagogen, den Studierenden und nicht zuletzt für den Klavierliebhaber jeder Stufe notwendige Nachschlagewerk, ein Führer durch die gesamte Klavierliteratur von den Anfängen bis zur Gegenwart. 'Die ersten Kapitel behandeln Klavierschulen, technische Studien, Etüden und methodische Schriften und geben mit kritischen Wertungen (Empfehlungen oder Warnungen) besonders dem jungen Pädagogen die Möglichkeit, seine Wahl zu treffen. Darauf folgt das eigentliche Feld der Klavierliteratur, ein riesiges Panorama, das sich vom Spanier Cabezón bis zu seriellen Kompositionen erstreckt und jeden der Meister mit klug abgewogenen Urteilen gut ins Bild bringt. Angaben über Verlag, Erscheinungsjahr und Herausgeber erleichtern die Anschaffung gewünschter Hefte, und eine Tabelle von 15 Schwierigkeitsgraden (an bekannten Werken orientiert) hilft dem interessierten Leser, in der Fülle der Erscheinungen das seinen Fähigkeiten Gemäße zu finden.' (Neue Zeitschrift für Musik)
Call Number: ML128.P3 W868 2001
Publication Date: 2001
A Guide to Piano Music by Women Composers by Designed as a practical reference guide for professional pianists and piano teachers, A Guide to Piano Music by Women Composers, Volume I, is an annotated catalogue of the available piano music in print composed by 144 women born before the 20th century. The work also features biographies and extensive bibliographical information for each composer. Arranged alphabetically by composer into categories including single works, collections, and anthologies, the music is also described in terms of grade level, genre, mood, style characteristics, and technical requirements, and ranges in difficulty from late elementary to virtuoso concert repertoire. Far too many teachers, students, professional musicians, and audiences are unaware of the contributions made by women in music, and of the beauty and merit of their specific compositions. This reference work provides an invaluable addition to the current literature.
Call Number: Ref. ML102.P5 D312 2002
Publication Date: 2002
The American Piano Concerto Compendium by The second edition of William Phemister's The American Piano Concerto Compendium reveals to professional and amateurs pianists alike a vast collection of available compositions by American composers. Analysis expands outside mainstream concerto styles to include those considered experimental or popular derivatives. The range of music flows from Pulitzer Prize winners like Samuel Barber, Gail Kubik, and John LaMontaine, to lesser-known multi-ethnic composers such as Tania Le n and Samuel Zyman, to old standards like Edward MacDowell and the first piano concerto written by an American-born composer, Otis B. Boise (1875), to the cutting-edge avant-garde of Milton Babbitt and Elliott Carter, just to name a few. These all contribute to the varied narrative that animates American piano music. With forty percent more works described, documented, and reviewed than were listed in the 1985 first edition from the College Music Society, this second edition is a valuable resource not only for pianists and conductors, but also for orchestras, teachers, students, music historians and critics, collectors, and concert attendees.
Call Number: Ref. ML128.P541 A512 2018
Publication Date: 2018
The Piano in Chamber Ensemble, Second Edition by The Piano in Chamber Ensemble describes more than 3,200 compositions, from duos to octets, by more than 1,600 composers. It is divided into sections according to the number of instruments involved, then subdivided according to the actual scoring. Keyboard, string, woodwind, brass, and percussion players and their teachers will find a wealth of chamber works from all periods.
Call Number: Ref. ML128.C4 H665 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Piano, the Instrument: An Annotated Bibliography by Entries are organized into six sections by topic: the first section lists works containing general information, including but not limited to, books and articles covering a wide range of topics, introductory materials, and serial titles. The second section covers the history on piano and is arranged by country. The section on builders and manufacturers is arranged by name of builder or manufacturer. The sections on construction and maintenance are arranged by parts of the piano. The section on miscellaneous subjects includes catalogs for collections of instruments, works about pedal pianos, pianos associated with composers, selection and purchase, works intended for younger readers, and works about other miscellaneous topics not included above. Readers are referred to the subject index for further cross-referencing. Referencing literature on every aspect of the piano, this annotated bibliography will cut down on research time for scholars and students, directing them to the most relevant and useful sources. No music library should be without it.
Call Number: Ref. ML128.P3 W849 2001
Publication Date: 2001
Piano Information Guide: An Aid to Research by Selected bibliography covers the developmental evolution of the instrument and the literature that describes the historical unfolding of the music for the piano. Full bibliographical data with each entry, including ISBN (when available) and OCLC number.
Call Number: Ref. ML128.P3 P179 1989
Publication Date: 1989
Music for Piano and Orchestra: An Annotated Guide, Enlarged Edition by " . . . an indispensable reference work that can be read with enjoyment for its gold mine of information, much of which will be unfamiliar to even the most jaded keyboard enthusiast." --Clavier " . . . a marvel of comprehensiveness . . . " --Notes " . . . easily surpasses any other work of its nature. It is a work for all admirers of the piano . . . " --Piano Journal With the addition of a Supplement containing over 200 new entries, Maurice Hinson now brings together more than 3,000 works for piano and orchestra from the 1700s to the present.
Call Number: Ref. ML128.P3 H664 1993
Publication Date: 1993
The Pianist's Guide to Transcriptions, Arrangements, and Paraphrases by Now in paperback The Pianist's Guide to Transcrip-tions, Arrange-ments, and Paraphrases Maurice Hinson Lists transcriptions for piano from orchestral and other compositions, more than 2,000 works in all. ..". a thorough summary of an important body of music written by a musician of extraordinary, perhaps unrivaled knowledge of the repertory." --American Music Teacher Some of the most celebrated composers--Beethoven, Brahms, Busoni, Liszt, Rachmaninoff, and Ravel--prepared piano transcriptions of some of their own works, as well as those of other composers. Maurice Hinson has selected, from the myriads of transcriptions now in existence, more than 2,000 such works of real musical worth. The Pianist's Guide to Transcriptions, Arrangements, and Paraphrases describes pieces for solo piano, duet, and two pianos, as well as outstanding transcriptions for one hand. Most of them are written for piano(s) alone, but a considerable number are scored for piano(s) and a small instrumental ensemble or a full orchestra. Thanks to the organization of this volume, the user can see at a glance the various transcriptions that have been made of a particular composition (say, a Schubert song) and also become aware of the breadth of a particular transcriber's output (as in the case of the prodigiously prolific Liszt). Maurice Hinson, Senior Professor Emeritus of Piano at the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary, was founding editor of the Journal of the American Liszt Society and is a contributor to the New Grove Dictionary of American Music. He is known for his many articles, videos, and lecture recitals, especially those on early American piano music. He is author of several books on piano literature, including the indispensable Guide to the Pianist's Repertoire, 3rd edition (Indiana University Press). March 2001 (cloth 1981) 192 pages, 6 1/8 x 9 1/4 paper 0-253-21456-4 $19.95 s
Call Number: Ref. ML128.P3 H6643 1990
Publication Date: 1990
Portuguese Piano Music: An Introduction and Annotated Bibliography by As the first book of its kind, Nancy Lee Harper's Portuguese Piano Music: An Introduction and Annotated Bibliography fills the gap in the historical record of Portuguese piano music from its start in the 18th century to the present. While although Spanish piano music is well documented owing to the reputation of such composers as Isaac Albéniz, Enrique Granados, and Manuel de Falla, our knowledge of compositions in the tradition of Portuguese piano music has not fared as well, barring the work of Carlos Seixas (1704-1742). This obscurity, however, reflects poorly on the history of early piano music in light of the many compositions written for fortepiano on behalf of the Portuguese court during the first half of the 18th century. Indeed, it was in the royal halls of King John V during his reign from 1706 to 1750 where the early fortepiano was frequently heard.In Portuguese Piano Music, Harper explores this rich musical tradition, offering a brief introduction to the pianistic history of Portugal and overviews of Portugal's contributions to solo piano music, piano in instrumental chamber music, piano concerti, piano for multiple pianists including with works with electronics, and didactic piano. While paying close attention to female composers, Harper adds an annotated and graded bibliography that presents readers with a comprehensive inventory of compositions. Appendixes include a selected discography, list of publishers, and other types of critical source information. To further illustrate its contents, Portuguese Piano Music contains a CD on which Harper performs representative repertoire, some of which are world premieres.This work is aimed at pianists, teachers, pupils, musicologists, and music lovers seeking to discover the remarkable world of Portuguese piano music.
Call Number: Ref. ML128.P3 H294 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Piano Music for One Hand by "Bravo to Edel on his excellent presentation of the subject! . . . highly recommended . . . " --ARBA 96 ". . . filled with information for pianists with injured hands and for players and teachers seeking unusual repertoire or ways of developing left-hand technique." --Clavier "Thanks to Edel for cataloging this largely unknown area of piano repertoire and to Indiana University Press for publishing this most welcomed book." --American Music Teacher A descriptive catalog of solos, chamber works, and concertos with piano parts written for one hand, including nearly 1,000 solo compositions for the left hand. Publication data, length, level of difficulty, style, and often brief biographical information about the composer are provided for each piece.
Call Number: Ref. ML128.P3 E21 1994
Publication Date: 1994
Piano Duet Repertoire: Music Originally Written for One Piano, Four Hands, Second Edition by Since the 1981 publication of the first edition, Cameron McGraw's Piano Duet Repertoire has been a trusted guide for duet performers. This second edition, edited and substantially expanded by Christopher and Katherine Fisher, brings the volume into the 21st century, adding over 500 new or updated composer entries and nearly 1,000 new work entries to the volume, a testament to the renewed interest in piano duet playing. Entries are arranged alphabetically by composer and include both pedagogical and concert repertoire. The annotations and the grade-level indications provide piano teachers a wealth of instructional guidance. The book also contains updated appendices listing collections and duet works with voice and other instruments. This new edition features a title index and a list of composers by nationality, making it a convenient and indispensable resource.
Call Number: Ref. ML128.P3 M147 2016
Publication Date: 2016
One Handed: A Guide to Piano Music for One Hand by This guide to the piano literature for the one-handed pianist surveys over 2,100 individual piano pieces which include not only concert literature but pedagogical pieces as well. Following the introduction are four chapters cataloguing original works for the right hand alone, original works for the left hand alone, music arranged or transcribed for one hand alone, and concerted works for one hand in concert with other pianists, instruments, or voices. Each entry assesses the individual composition, its quality, its difficulty, its particular appeal, and its uses with the composer's name, dates, and nationality, where possible. Also included is a selected discography of commercially produced phonodiscs, compact discs, and cassettes. Instructors and pianists alike will appreciate this exhaustive guide to one-handed piano music. To aid further research, a bibliography of books, articles, and theses about the literature is provided along with a chapter that lists the contents of thirty-six anthologies devoted to one-handed piano music. This unique reference also includes an index.
Call Number: Ref. ML128.P3 P317 1999
Publication Date: 1999
Encyclopedic Reference Sources
A Dictionary for the Modern Pianist by A Dictionary for the Modern Pianist combines nearly four hundred entries covering classical and popular pianists, noted teachers, terminology germane to the piano's construction, and major manufacturers--both familiar firms and outstanding, independent builders who have risen to the forefront in recent years. Speaking to the needs of the modern performer, it also includes entries on jazz and pop artists, digital pianos, and period instruments. As a resource for professionals and students, A Dictionary for the Modern Pianist is also accessible to more general readers, as all of its topics are presented in clear, readable expositions. Drawing on the most recent research of numerous specialists, author Stephen Siek emphasizes the piano's uniquely rich heritage, giving pianists a renewed appreciation for the famous artists and teachers who have shaped their art. Transcending simple alphabetical definitions, the dictionary's careful attention both to legacy and detail make it an invaluable addition to any pianist's library. Titles in the Dictionaries for the Modern Musician series offer novice and advanced musicians key information on the field of study and performance of a major instrument or instrument class. Unlike other encyclopedic works, contributions to this series focus primarily on the knowledge required by the contemporary musical student or performer. From quick definitions of confusing terms to in-depth overviews of history and tradition, the dictionaries are ideal references for students, professionals, and music lovers of all kinds.
Call Number: Ref. ML102.P5 S571 2017
Publication Date: 2016
Lexikon des Klaviers: Baugeschichte, Spielpraxis, Komponisten und ihre Werke, Interpreten by Das Lexikon des Klaviers konzentriert in bislang unerreichter Weise alles Wissenswerte über dieses in unserem Kulturkreis allgemein beliebteste und am weitesten verbreitete Musikinstrument und seine stilistisch vielfältige Musik. In Personeneinträgen (u.a. zu Komponisten, Pianisten und Klavierbauern) sowie Sacheinträgen zu Spielpraxis, Pädagogik, Gattungen, Instrumentenbau und Schlüsselwerken der Weltliteratur für dieses Instrument erläutert - allgemeinverständlich und konzis formuliert - ein Team fachkundiger Autoren das sowohl für den Spezialisten als auch für den Musikliebhaber relevante Wissen auf dem aktuellen Stand. Pianistische Amateure ebenso wie Profis, Musikliebhaber, Musikwissenschaftler und Instrumentenkundler werden in diesem Lexikon ein lange vermißtes Nachschlagewerk über ihr Instrument finden.
Call Number: Ref. ML102.P5 L679 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Encyclopedia of Keyboard Instruments by The first volume of a three-volume reference tracing the evolution to the present day of the piano, organ, clavichord, and harpsichord. Each comprehensive volume features some 600 signed articles that deal with artisans, composers, events, companies, instrument construction, culture and history, ins
Call Number: Ref. ML102.K5 E56 1994
Publication Date: 1993
The Harpsichord and Clavichord: An Encyclopedia by The Harpsichord and Clavichord, An Encyclopedia includes articles on this family of instruments, including famous players, composers, instruments builders, the construction of the instruments, and related terminology. It is the first complete reference on this important family of keyboard instruments. The contributors include major scholars of music and musical instrument history from around the world. It completes the three-volume Encyclopedia of Keyboard Instruments.
Call Number: Ref. ML102.H385 H295 2007
Publication Date: 2006
The Cambridge Companion to the Piano by This collection of specially commissioned essays offers an accessible introduction to the history of the piano, performance styles, and its vast repertoire. Part 1 reviews the evolution of the piano, from its earliest forms up to the most recent developments, including the acoustics of the instrument. Part 2 explores the varied repertory in its social and stylistic contexts, including contemporary music, with a final chapter on jazz, blues and ragtime. The Companion also contains a glossary of important terms and will be a valuable source for the piano performer, student and enthusiast.
Call Number: ML650 .C178 1998 (also available as an e-book)
Publication Date: 2011
Music for Piano by This historical survey focuses on music for piano solo but also includes important compositions for piano duet and two pianos. Scholarly yet readable, it covers the entire repertoire from the Renaissance to the late 20th century and incorporates a bibliography of 1 100 sources for further study.
Call Number: Ref. ML700.K58 M98 1995
Publication Date: 2003
Pianists for the Connoisseur: Michelangeli, Cortot, Weissenberg, Curzon, Solomon, Ney: Discographies by John Hunt was born in Windsor and Graduated from University College London, in German language and literature. He has worked in personnel administration, record retailing and bibliographic research for a government agency and is on the lecture panel of the National Federation of Music Societies. In his capacity as Chairman of the Furtw ngler Society UK, John Hunt has attended conventions in Rome, Paris and Z rich and has contributed to important reference works about Furtw ngler by John Ardoin and Joachim Matzner. He has also translated from the German J rgen Kesting's important monograph on Maria Callas. John Hunt has published discographies of over 80 performing artists, several of which have run into two or more editions.
Call Number: Ref. ML156.4.P5 H93 2002
Publication Date: 2009
Tantalizing Tingles: A Discography of Early Ragtime, Jazz, and Novelty Syncopated Piano Recordings, 1889-1934 by For the first time, all data for recordings of non-classical piano made for issue on disc and cylinder records prior to 1935 are brought together in this work. The majority of the listing consists of material which has never been published in any form. The volume includes piano solos, duets, trios, and quartets, as well as selected titles where a soloist is featured within a recording by a dance band or orchestra. It covers a wide variety of pianists and piano styles including ragtime, stride, novelty-syncopated, boogie, and blues. This work will be of interest to major libraries, archives, and schools of music, as well as researchers and collectors. The recordings covered in this work range from the earliest known piano recordings which were made in 1889 as cylinder records for the North American Phonograph Company through recordings of the early 1930s by some of the great jazz pianists of that era (Mary Lou Williams, Garland Wilson, Herman Chittison, Art Tatum, and Teddy Wilson). In between are a wide variety of pianists and piano styles from around the world. While many of the solos recorded were of popular tunes of the day, there is also a fascinating selection of piano compositions, often played by the composer. They include such well-known names as Felix Arndt, Nacio Herb Brown, Hoagy Carmichael, Rudolf Friml, George Gershwin, John W. Green, Ferdie Grofe, Ralph Rainger, Leslie Stuart, Clarence Williams, and Vincent Youmans. A comprehensive title index includes composer credits for the majority of titles listed.
Call Number: Ref. ML156.4.P5 L188 1995
Publication Date: 1995
Piano Pedagogy: A Research and Information Guide by Piano Pedagogy: A Research and Information Guide provides a detailed outline of resources available for research and/or training in piano pedagogy. Like its companion volumes in the Routledge Music Bibliographies series, it serves beginning and advanced students and scholars as a basic guide to current research in the field. The book will includes bibliographies, research guides, encyclopedias, works from other disciplines that are related to piano pedagogy, current sources spanning all formats, including books, journals, audio and video recordings, and electronic sources.
Call Number: Ref. ML128.P3 C732 2009
Publication Date: 2009
The Pianist's Guide to Standard Teaching and Performance Concertos: An Invaluable Resource of Keyboard Concertos from Baroque through Contemporary Periods for Teachers, Students, and Performers by This textbook provides a unique resource to promote interest in and awareness of the available body of captivating concerto literature. It focuses on works suitable for pianists at the intermediate level, highlighting musically satisfying compositions from early Baroque masterworks through contemporary concertos written by today's best pedagogical composers. The book is arranged alphabetically by composer, with descriptions detailing information about publishers, tempo, key, instrumentation, and technical and musical content. The authors discuss the challenges and stylistic features of each selection and grade each movement using the 10-level grading system from Jane Magrath's The Pianist's Guide to Standard Teaching and Performance Literature, a model for the textbook. This is an essential reference work for those interested in student concertos. Karen Beres teaches the undergraduate group piano classes and piano pedagogy class at the University of North Carolina School of the Arts, where she serves as Interim Vice Provost and Dean of Academic Affairs for the School of Music. Christopher Hahn is professor of piano at the University of Montana where he teaches applied piano and piano pedagogy at the undergraduate and graduate level. Beres and Hahn have been presenting innovative programs of duet and two-piano repertoire as the CanAm Piano Duo since 2002.
Call Number: Ref, ML128.P3 B491 2017
Publication Date: 2017
Pianists Guide to Standard Teaching and Performance Literature by This reference book is an invaluable resource for teachers, students and performers for evaluating and selecting piano solo literature. Concise and thoroughly researched, thousands of works, from the Baroque through the Contemporary periods, have been graded and evaluated in detail. Includes an alphabetical list of composers, explanations of works, and much more.
Call Number: Ref. ML128.P3 M212 1995
Publication Date: 1995