Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.
John Harle -- the Saxophone by John Harle: The Saxophone is the most in-depth approach to playing the saxophone ever published. In this two-volume boxed set, master saxophonist John Harle reveals his groundbreaking techniques for fluent and natural playing---transforming the musical and learning experience of both students and professionals. Practical, clear, and universally relevant, The Saxophone discloses John Harle's secrets to playing with individuality, fluent technique, and a powerful musical presence by: * Introducing revolutionary new concepts such as the Reed Fan, the Power Lines, and the Cathedral of Resonance * Exploring every aspect of playing and performing, from breathing, resonant tone production, and fluent articulation through to techniques for building ease and flow in performance * Featuring unique anatomical diagrams, stunning visualizations and color-coded musical examples throughout * Offering expert advice on all aspects of performance: dealing with fear, nerves, and adrenaline, developing a strong psychological approach, and setting goal posts for success including practice wheels that help develop a structured and relaxed practice routine.
Call Number: MT500.H284 S273 2017
Publication Date: 2017
Saxophone Secrets: 60 performance strategies for the advanced saxophonist by Modeled on the brilliant approach first formulated by distinguished professor music and master clarinetist Michele Gingras in her Clarinet Secrets and More Clarinet Secrets (both available from Scarecrow Press), Tracy Heavner's Saxophone Secrets provides advanced saxophonists with 60 performance secrets that will assist in their musical development. This work is the result of 30 years of personal teaching and performance experience. Heavner offers both intermediate players and advanced professionals a wide variety of techniques, which will greatly improve any saxophonist's performance ability. Designed to be the go-to hands-on guide for practitioners, Heavner's strategies consider a vast array of issues for the saxophonist who needs to take that next big step up. Beginning chapters consider various brands of saxophones, mouthpieces, ligatures, reeds, and maintenance techniques that reflect the standard practices and expectations of the advanced performer. The secrets that follow develop and improve embouchure, tone, articulation, and finger technique, allowing saxophonists to analyze their own playing and adjust accordingly. Heavner pulls back the curtain further to introduce those secrets for developing the altissimo register and extended saxophone techniques, from circular breathing and multiphonics to slap and flutter tonguing--all absolute necessities for saxophonists seeking to play contemporary classical, jazz, or commercial music. Finally, Heavner concludes by letting musicians in on those little-revealed secrets for taking their saxophones on the road. Saxophone Secrets is the ideal work for saxophonists, saxophone instructors, band teachers, and anyone looking to improve their saxophone performance skills or those of their students.
Call Number: MT500.H442 S273 2013
Publication Date: 2013
The Saxophone Handbook: A complete guide to tone, technique, performance and maintenance by (Berklee Guide). A complete guide to playing and maintenance, this handbook offers essential information on all dimensions of the saxophone. It provides an overview of technique, such as breathing, fingerings, articulations, and more. Exercises will help you develop your sense of timing, facility, and sound. Extensive directions on repairs will help you maintain your instrument and customize it to support your own playing style and preferences. You'll learn to fine-tune your reed, recork the keys, fix binding keys, replace pads, and many other repairs and adjustments. You'll also learn to improve your tone, intonation, and flexibility while playing with proper technique.
Call Number: MT500.S628 S273 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Miscellaneous Books about the Saxophone
The Saxophone by In the first fully comprehensive study of one of the world’s most iconic musical instruments, Stephen Cottrell examines the saxophone’s various social, historical, and cultural trajectories, and illustrates how and why this instrument, with its idiosyncratic shape and sound, became important for so many different music-makers around the world. After considering what led inventor Adolphe Sax to develop this new musical wind instrument, Cottrell explores changes in saxophone design since the 1840s before examining the instrument's role in a variety of contexts: in the military bands that contributed so much to the saxophone's global dissemination during the nineteenth century; as part of the rapid expansion of American popular music around the turn of the twentieth century; in classical and contemporary art music; in world and popular music; and, of course, in jazz, a musical style with which the saxophone has become closely identified.
Call Number: ML975.C851 S273 2013
Publication Date: 2013
The Devil's Horn: The story of the saxophone, from noisy novelty to the king of cool by In The Devil's Horn, Michael Segell traces the 160-year history of the saxophone-a horn that created a sound never before heard in nature, and that from the moment it debuted has aroused both positive and negative passions among all who hear it. The saxophone has insinuated itself into virtually every musical idiom that has come along since its birth as well as into music with traditions thousands of years old. But it has also been controversial, viewed as a symbol of decadence, immorality and lasciviousness:it was banned in Japan, saxophonists have been sent to Siberian lockdown by Communist officials, and a pope even indicted it.Segell outlines the saxophone's fascinating history while he highlights many of its legendary players, including Benny Carter, Illinois Jacquet, Sonny Rollins, Lee Konitz, Phil Woods, Branford Marsalis, and Michael Brecker. The Devil's Horn explores the saxophone's intersections with social movement and change, the innovative acoustical science behind the instrument, its struggles in the world of "legit" music, and the mystical properties that seduce all who fall under its influence. Colorful, evocative, and richly informed, The Devil's Horn is an ingenious portrait of one of the most popular instruments in the world.
Call Number: ML975.S454 D494 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Saxophone by Encompasses every aspect of the saxophone, including its history, the instrument, teaching and repertoire. The book also features music examples and photograph
Call Number: ML975.H342 S27 1995
Publication Date: 1998
Bibliography on Saxophone and Repertoire
A Comprehensive Guide to the Saxophone Repertoire 1844-2003 by The only comprehensive bibliographical index of music for saxophone. More than 18,000 works for saxophone from 1844-2003, the entire lifespan of the saxophone, are cross-indexed by composer and instrumentation. Each entry includes title, duration, year of composition, publisher, arranger, dedicatee, movement titles, and composer information.
Call Number: Ref. ML128.S247 L84 C73 2003
Publication Date: 2003
Saxophone Recital Music by Saxophone Recital Music is a discography designed for those interested in recordings of saxophone recital and concert music. It is a unique reference source for saxophone performers, teachers, and students. Since the 1970s, a veritable explosion of saxophone recital music has taken place. Saxophone Recital Music includes the vast majority of recordings on 33 1/3 rpm records, cassette tapes, and compact discs through early 1993. Information was obtained from album covers and listings available through recording catalogs, library holdings, collectors, and record stores.
Call Number: Ref. ML156.4.S3 S34 1993
Publication Date: 1993