Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Miscellaneous Books on the Horn
Call Number: ML955.T898 H8 1983
Publication Date: 1983
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Brass Instruments by Some thirty-two experts from fifteen countries join three of the world's leading authorities on the design, manufacture, performance and history of brass musical instruments in this first major encyclopaedia on the subject. It includes over one hundred illustrations, and gives attention to every brass instrument which has been regularly used, with information about the way they are played, the uses to which they have been put, and the importance they have had in classical music, sacred rituals, popular music, jazz, brass bands and the bands of the military. There are specialist entries covering every inhabited region of the globe and essays on the methods that experts have used to study and understand brass instruments. The encyclopaedia spans the entire period from antiquity to modern times, with new and unfamiliar material that takes advantage of the latest research. From Abblasen to Zorsi Trombetta da Modon, this is the definitive guide for students, academics, musicians and music lovers.
Call Number: Ref. ML933 .C1783 2019
Publication Date: 2018
Bibliography on Horn and Repertoire
Guide to the Solo Horn Repertoire by This comprehensive, annotated resource of solo repertoire for the horn documents in detail the rich catalogue of original solo compositions for the instrument. Intended as a guide for practical use and easy reference, it is organized into three large sections: works for unaccompanied horn, works for horn and keyboard, and works for horn and ensemble. Each entry includes publisher information, a brief description of the form and character of a work, technical details of the horn writing, and information on dedication and premiere. The authors also include commentary on the various techniques required and the performance challenges of each piece. Representing over ten years of careful compilation and notation by an expert in horn performance and pedagogy, and by a seasoned music librarian and natural horn performer, Guide to the Solo Horn Repertoire will be an invaluable resource for performers, educators, and composers.
Call Number: Ref. ML128.H67 D389 2016
Publication Date: 2016-04-18
Solo-Horn und Blasorchester by
Call Number: Ref. ML128.H67 W54 2000
Publication Date: 2000
Index of over 200 solo works for 1 or more horns (including hunting horn, signal horn, alphorn, etc.) and wind orchestra
French Horn Discography by This unique one-volume discography provides a convenient reference to recordings of solo horn, horn duos and trios, multiple horns, and horns in combination with other solo instruments and with voice. Entries are organized by type of instrumental group or performance, with recordings of each artist listed under the composer of the work. Record label and number and an abbreviated list of reviews are provided, together with indexes of composers, hornists, and ensembles.
Call Number: Ref. ML156.4.H7 H558 1986
Publication Date: 1986
Horn Bibliographie by
Call Number: Ref. ML128.H67 B88
Publication Date: 1970
(Also 1983 Suppl., v.3, 1970-1975).