Skip to main content

Music By People from the African Diaspora: Home

Music By People from the African Diaspora

This guide is designed to help you find information about Black music and musicians, in the United States and throughout the world. Use this as a starting point, or browsing tool. As always, consult our catalog for complete holdings information, and when uncertain, ask at the Reference Desk!

Black Music and Musicians

New Grove articles

Kubik, Gerhard. "Africa." Grove Music Online. 2001

Search also under individual African nations (e.g., Nigeria), African tribe/culture (e.g., Igbo music), musical instruments (e.g., Mbira), etc. 

Ramsey, Guthrie P. "African American music." Grove Music Online. 4 Oct. 2012; Accessed 20 Jul. 2020.

Search also under individual African-American musical styles, (e.g., Blues, rap, reggae)

Search also under nations with significant African-diaspora populations, (e.g., Brazil, Haiti) 

Sibley Music Library

Location:

Miller Center, 27 Gibbs St. (across the street from Eastman School of Music) 2nd – 4th floors


Phone (Library Office): 585-274-1350
Phone (Reference): 585-274-1320
Phone (Special Collections): 585-274-1335
Phone (Circulation Desk): 585-274-1300
Fax: 585-274-1380
https://www.esm.rochester.edu/sibley/

Hours During School Terms

Monday – Thursday 8:00 a.m. – 11:00 p.m.
Friday 8:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Saturday 10:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Sunday 1:00 p.m. – 11:00 p.m.

Call number browsing

MUSIC SCORES

M1366 Jazz ensembles
M1630.18 Popular music collections
M1664 Abolitionist movement: Song collections
M1665 Abolitionist movement: Separate works
M1670 African American music (includes accompanied and unaccompanied works, including Spirituals: Collections
M1671 African American music (includes accompanied and unaccompanied works, including Spirituals: Separate works
M1681 West Indies/Caribbean Area folk, national, and ethnic music  (General)
M1681.A-Z West Indies/Caribbean Area folk, national, and ethnic music  (by island, country, etc., A-Z)
M1684 Central American folk, national, and ethnic music (General)
M1684.A-Z Central American folk, national, and ethnic music (by region or country, A-Z)
M1686                 South American folk, national, and ethnic music (General)
M1687.A-Z South American folk, national, and ethnic music (by region or country, A-Z)
M1689 Brazilian folk, national, and ethnic music
M1830 African folk, national, and ethnic music (General)
M1831.A-Z  African folk, national, and ethnic music (by ethnic group, A-Z)
M1834 South African folk, national, and ethnic music
M1838.A-Z African music (by region or country, A-Z)
M2131.S5    African American Spiritual churches: Hymns  

DICTIONARIES AND ENCYCLOPEDIAS

ML102.B6 Blues
ML102.G6 Gospel
ML102.J6 Jazz
ML102.P66 Popular music
ML102.27 Rap/Hip-Hop
ML102.S65 Soul music
ML102.W67 World music

BIBLIOGRAPHIES

ML120.A35   Africa (General)
ML120.C25 Caribbean Area (General)
ML120.J35 Jamaica
ML128.B35 Black music/African American music
ML128.B47 Blues
ML128.J3 Jazz
ML128.R28 Rap/Hip-hop
ML128.S4 Spirituals

DISCOGRAPHIES-FILMOGRAPHIES-VIDEOGRAPHIES

ML156.4.B6 Blues/Rhythm & blues discographies
ML156.4.J3 Jazz discographies
ML156.4.P6 Popular music discographies
ML156.4.R27 Rap/Hip-hop discographies
ML156.4.S6 Soul music discographies
ML156.6.A35 African American music film and video catalogs

MUSIC HISTORY AND CRITICISM (ACCORDING TO GEOGRAPHICAL REGION)

ML207.A1 West Indies. Caribbean Area (General works)
ML207.A2-AZ West Indies. Caribbean Area (by island or country)
ML220 Central America (General works)
ML221-227 Central America (By region or country)
ML230 South America  (General works)
ML231-239 South America (By region or country)
ML350 Africa (General works)
ML350.1 Africa (General works) - Addresses, essays, lectures
ML350.2 Africa (General works) - Through 1700
ML350.3 Africa (General works) - 1701-1800
ML350.4 Africa (General works) - 1801-1900

ML350.5

Africa (General works) - 1901-2000
ML350.6 Africa (General works) - 2001-
ML355.A-Z Africa (by region or country, A-Z)

AFRICAN AMERICAN AND HISPANIC AMERICAN MUSICS (HISTORY AND CRITICISM)

ML3478

African American music: History and criticism: Addresses, essays, lectures

ML3479 African American music: History and criticism: General works
ML3187 Gospel music
ML3481 Hispanic American music:

POPULAR MUSIC (HISTORY AND CRITICISM, ACCORDING TO GEOGRAPHICAL REGION)

ML3470 General works
ML3475 America (including Latin America) - General works
ML3486 West Indies/Caribbean Area - General works
ML3461.A2-Z West Indies/Caribbean Area (by island or country, A-Z)
ML3487 Central and South America - General works
ML3487.A7-Z Central and South America (by region or country, A-Z)
ML3502.5 Africa (General works)
ML3503.A-Z Africa (By region or country, A-Z

POPULAR MUSIC (HISTORY AND CRITICISM, ACCORDING TO TYPES AND STYLES)

ML3506 Jazz (General)
ML3507 Jazz - Addresses, essays, lectures
ML3508 Jazz (United States)
ML3509.A-Z Jazz (By other regions or countries, A-Z)
ML3521 Blues/Rhythm and blues
ML3527 Doo-wop
ML3527.8 Funk
ML3528.5 House music
ML3530 Ragtime music
ML3531 Rap music
ML3532 Reggae music
ML3534 Rock music

FOLK, NATIONAL, AND ETHNIC MUSICS (HISTORY AND CRITICISM)

ML3545 General works
ML3549-3549.6 America (Including Latin America)
ML3556 African American (Including spirituals)
ML3558 Latin American (including Creole)
ML3565 West Indies
ML3571 Central America (General)
ML3572.A-Z Central America (By region or country, A-Z)
ML3560 Africa (General works)
ML3560.1 Africa - Addresses, essays, lectures
ML3560.2 Africa - Through 1700
ML3560.3 Africa - 1701-1800
ML3560.4 Africa - 1801-1900
ML3560.5 Africa - 1900-2000
ML3560.6

Africa - 2001-

SOCIAL AND POLITICAL ASPECTS OF MUSIC

ML3916 General works
ML3917.A-Z By region or country, A-Z
ML3917.B6 Brazil
ML3917,U6 United States
ML3918.A-Z Forms and types, A-Z
ML3918.B57 Blues
ML3918.F86 Funk
ML3918.J39 Jazz
ML3918.P67 Popular music
ML3918.R37 Rap music
ML3918.R44 Reggae music
ML3918.R63 Rock music
ML3918.S26 Salsa music

RELIGIOUS ASPECTS OF MUSIC

ML3921 General works
ML3828.A-Z Forms and types, A-Z
ML3828,B68 Blues
ML3828.J39 Jazz
ML3828,P67 Popular Music
ML3828.R36 Rap music
ML3828.R63 Rock music

Recommend a purchase

You can recommend purchases of African-Diaspora-related scores, audio/video recordings, or books. Please notify Music Librarian Dan Zager with recommended titles.

See also: Jazz LibGuide

Ask a librarian

Rick McRae's picture
Rick McRae
Contact:
Sibley Music Library
27 Gibbs St.
(585) 274-1370