Dictionary for the Modern Trumpet Player by
Titles in Dictionaries for the Modern Musician: A Scarecrow Press Music Series offer both the novice and the advanced artist key information designed to convey the field of study and performance for a major instrument or instrument class, as well as the workings of musicians in areas from conducting to composing. Unlike other encyclopedic works, contributions to this series focus primarily on the knowledge required by the contemporary musical student or performer. Each dictionary covers topics from instrument parts to playing technique, major works to key figures. A must-have for any musician s personal library Trumpeters today perform a vast repertoire of musical material spanning over five hundred years in a variety of styles and with numerous related instruments. Now, for the first time, a work of reference appears on all the instruments of the high brass family, providing ready answers to issues that trumpeters, conductors, and musicians may well encounter in the music that they perform and study. Filled with concise and detailed definitions, A Dictionary for the Modern Trumpet Player also includes biographies of prominent performers, teachers, instrument makers, and composers of trumpet solo and ensemble literature often omitted from other musical references. Drawing on a broad range of scholarly sources, A Dictionary for the Modern Trumpet Player includes entries on historic instruments like the cornetto, the keyed bugle, the slide trumpet; jazz trumpet techniques, as well as mutes and accessories; the ancient ancestors of the trumpet and even related non-Western instruments. Carefully labeled illustrations illuminate the inner workings of various valve mechanisms and enable the reader to visualize some of the more technical points of high brass instruments. Appendixes include a timeline of trumpet history, a survey of valve mechanisms, a list of prominent excerpts from the orchestral and operatic repertoire, and an extensive bibliography. From quick definitions of confusing terms in a musical score to an in-depth overview of trumpet history, A Dictionary for the Modern Trumpet Player is an ideal reference for students, professionals, and music lovers of all kinds."
Das Grosse Buch der Trompete: Instrument, Geschichte, Trompeterlexikon by 
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Brass Instruments by
Some thirty-two experts from fifteen countries join three of the world's leading authorities on the design, manufacture, performance and history of brass musical instruments in this first major encyclopaedia on the subject. It includes over one hundred illustrations, and gives attention to every brass instrument which has been regularly used, with information about the way they are played, the uses to which they have been put, and the importance they have had in classical music, sacred rituals, popular music, jazz, brass bands and the bands of the military. There are specialist entries covering every inhabited region of the globe and essays on the methods that experts have used to study and understand brass instruments. The encyclopaedia spans the entire period from antiquity to modern times, with new and unfamiliar material that takes advantage of the latest research. From Abblasen to Zorsi Trombetta da Modon, this is the definitive guide for students, academics, musicians and music lovers.
Twentieth-Century Brass Soloists by 
Inside John Haynie's Studio: A Master Teacher's Lessons on Trumpet and Life by
"This wonderful collection of essays is a treasure of insight into the mind and heart of one of our great American performers and teachers. If the Arban book is the trumpet player's 'Bible,' then I'd have to say Inside John Haynie's Studio is the trumpet teacher's 'Bible.'"--Ronald Romm, founder, Canadian Brass and Professor of Trumpet, University of Illinois "The essays in this remarkable volume go far beyond trumpet pedagogy, providing an exquisite portrait of the studio practices of one of the first full-time single-instrument wind faculty members in an American college or university setting. John's concern for educating the whole person, not just cramming for the job market, emanates from every page. This book showcases a teaching career that has become legendary."--James Scott, Dean of the College of Music, University of North Texas "The principle that pervades my entire educational philosophy did not come from education or psychology classes; it did not come from the many sermons preached by my Dad and hundreds of other pulpiteers. It came from John Haynie's studio."--Douglas Smith, Mildred and Ernest Hogan Professor of Music, Southern Baptist Theological Seminary "I read a book like this and I come out the other end asking, 'Why didn't I try this long before now?' All hail to John Haynie and Anne Hardin."-- Ray Bradbury, author of Fahrenheit 451
Buzz to Brilliance: A Beginning and Intermediate Guide to Trumpet Playing by
Buzz to Brilliance engages students personally, technically and musically as they begin their study on the trumpet. The book journeys with students from the moment they first open their trumpet case to years later as they prepare for college auditions. It abounds with technical informationand practical tips including buying a new trumpet, mouthpiece selection, adjusting to braces, and marching band.Chapters on practice skills, sight-reading, and performing are a must-read for any musician, while special features give students a window into diverse worlds, from the workbench of a master repairman to the French horn studio of a master teacher. Drawings, diagrams and pictures invite studentsinto each page, making even advanced technical concepts easy to understand. Following the written portion of the book, a comprehensive set of scales and technique-building exercises address topics including breathing, high range, pedal tones, lip slurs, accuracy, articulation, and pedal tones. With practice schedules, mouthpiece comparison chart, pitch tendencies and more,this book is a treasure for any trumpet player. Buzz to Brilliance is the perfect companion for any beginning method book, and the first text on the market that provides a comprehensive set of essential studies selected specifically for beginning and intermediate players.
Wind Talk for Brass: A Practical Guide to Uunderstanding and Teaching Brass Instruments by 
Twentieth-Century Music for Trumpet and Organ: An Annotated Bibliography by 
Music for Trumpets from Three Centuries (c. 1600 - after 1900): Compositions for 1-24 (Natural) Trumpets with and Without Timpani by 
Brass Bibliography by 
Fanfares and Finesse: A Performer's Guide to Trumpet History and Literature (also available as ebook) by
Unlike the violin, which has flourished largely unchanged for close to four centuries, the trumpet has endured numerous changes in design and social status from the battlefield to the bandstand and ultimately to the concert hall. This colorful past is reflected in the arsenal of instruments a classical trumpeter employs during a performance, sometimes using no fewer than five in different keys and configurations to accurately reproduce music from the past. With the rise in historically inspired performances comes the necessity for trumpeters to know more about their instrument's heritage, its repertoire, and different performance practices for old music on new and period-specific instruments. More than just a history of the trumpet, this essential reference book is a comprehensive guide for musicians who bring that musical history to life.
A Timeline of Trumpets: Collecting the History of Modern Trumpets by
Trumpets have been a part of human culture since before there were humans. They have served as expressions of emotion, tools of the hunter-gatherer, tools of the warrior, and ultimately once again as a means of expressing that emotion from deep within the human soul that manifests as music. To look at how the trumpet has transformed in its role in human society is to look at how human society itself has transformed. And, as a material object once adapted from nature, but which took new forms as the successive technologies of metalworking, component sub-assembly fabrication, machining, high-force mechanical forming and ultimately automation transformed the abilities of humans to make objects for their use, it is a microcosm of human technological and socio-economic evolution.To collect and study examples of every form the trumpet has taken since the time when proto-human tools were limited to a choicely shaped rock up to the present day would be prohibitively expensive and practically impossible - as examples simply no longer exist. However, with cursory examination of the first 99% of said history, the evolution of the trumpet in modern times provides an excellent case study into how the forces of human cultural, religious, political, material and technological change interact with one another and manifest in a relatively simple and clearly defined element of our culture. Therefore, the bulk of what follows is focused on the piston valve trumpet and the time period during which chromatic trumpets rose to prominence in popular music, became ubiquitous in the schools following the advent of music education, and are now moving to a less prominent role once again as the popular genre moves into the age of electronic music.To that end, what follows is more a timeline of events and physical manifestations than a socio-cultural analysis - though the author has ventured to offer an opinion or ten along the way. The reader should feel free to question assertions made, and to treat this as an archeological data set as much as a history.
Lowrey's International Trumpet Discography by 