Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Organ: Reference Works and Selected Bibliography

Encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.

Bibliographies on organ (and related instruments) and repertoire

Beckmann, Klaus. Repertorium Orgelmusik=A Bio-Bibliographical Index of Organ Music: Composers-Works-
          Editions, 1150-2000. 2 vol. Mainz: Schott, 2001. Ref. ML128.O6 B397 2001

La biblioteca de organo de Gerard A.C de Graaf. Colecciones singulares de la Biblioteca Nacional, no. 6.
          Madrid : Biblioteca Nacional, 2004. Ref. ML128.O6 B582 2004

Heinrich, Adel. Organ and Harpsichord Music By Women Composers: An Annotated Catalog. NY: Greenwood,
          1991. Art & Music Ref. ML128.O6 O73 1991

Henderson, John. A Directory of Composers for Organ, 3rd rev. and enl ed. Wiltshire, England: John Henderson,
          2005. Ref. ML128.O6 H496 D59 2005

Henshaw, W. B. A Bibliography of Organ Music. Portsmouth: Bardon Enterprises, 1996.
          Ref. ML128.O6 H526 1996

Hettinger, Sharon L. American Organ Music of The Twentieth Century: An Annotated Bibliography of Composers.
          Warren, MI: Harmonie Park Press, 1997. Ref. ML106 .U3 H59 1997

Laster, James H. Catalogue of Music for Organ and Instruments. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow, 2005.
          Ref. ML128.O6 L349 2005

Lawrence, Joy E. The Organist’s Shortcut to Service Music: A Guide to Finding Intonations, Organ Compositions,
          and Free Accompaniments Based on Traditional Hymn Tunes. Cleveland: Ludwig Music, 1989
          Ref. ML128 .O68 L42 1989 v.1-2

Lohmann, Heinz. Handbuch der Orgelliteratur. Wiesbaden: Breitkopf und Hartel, 1975.
          Ref. ML128 .O68 L833H

Lukas, Viktor. A Guide to Organ Music; [translated by Anne Wyburd from the 5th edition ; with addenda by
          Lee Garrett ; Reinhard G. Pauly, general editor]. Portland, OR: Amadeus Press, 1989.
          Ref. MT140 .L954 R29 1989

Sloane, Sally Jo. Music for Two or More Players at Clavichord, Harpsichord, Organ: An Annotated
          Bibliography. NY: Greenwood Press, 1991. Ref. ML128.K5 S634 1991

Spelman, Leslie P. Organ Plus: A Catalogue of Ensemble Music for Organ and Instruments. NY: American
          Guild of Organists, 1981. Ref. ML128 .O68 S7435 1981

Wasson, D. DeWitt. Hymntune Index and Related Hymn Materials, 3 vols. Studies in Liturgical Musicology, No. 6
          Lanham, MD: Scarecrow, 1998. Ref. ML3186.W323 H996 1998