Lexikon der Holzblasinstrumente: Oboe, Klarinette, Saxophon und Fagott by 
Oboe Secrets: 75 performance strategies for the advanced oboist and English horn player by
Modeled on the brilliant approach first formulated by distinguished professor of music and master clarinetist Michele Gingras in Clarinet Secrets and More Clarinet Secrets (both available from Scarecrow Press), Music Secrets for the Advanced Musician: A Scarecrow Press Music Series is designed for instrumentalists, singers, conductors, composers, and other instructors and professionals seeking a quick set of pointers to improve their work as performers and producers of music. Easy to use and intended for the advanced musician, contributions to the Music Secrets series fill a niche for those who have moved beyond what beginners and intermediate practitioners need. In Oboe Secrets: 75 Performance Strategies for the Advanced Oboist and English Horn Player, Jacqueline Leclair tackles the oboe's reputation as an especially difficult instrument and illustrates how oboists and English horn players can overcome common challenges. Leclair draws on her experience as a performer and instructor, offering practical tips and sometimes revolutionary ideas for rethinking oboe pedagogy. Leclair also looks at performance strategies in the areas of equipment maintenance and management, physical health, and performance technique. Her secrets focus on such matters as how to optimize practice sessions, build endurance, improve use of the body when playing, work with reeds, and apply extended techniques. Oboe Secrets provides oboists and English horn players a quick and efficient path to significant improvement--both technically and musically--in their playing. It is the perfect resource for advanced high school oboists, professional performers, music instructors, and avid amateur musicians.
Oboe Art and Method by
In Oboe Art and Method, veteran oboe performer and instructor Martin Schuring describes in detail all of the basic techniques of oboe playing and reed making, with expert tips and step-by-step instructions for how best to perform each of these tasks with grace and technical efficiency.Schuring's straightforward and articulate explanations of breathing, embouchure, finger technique, articulation, phrasing, and more help demystify the earliest stages of oboe playing and beyond. In addition, Schuring provides excellent advice on the "extra-musical"; practicing, instrument care andadjustment, professional development, and career development-related issues. The oboe is a notoriously complicated instrument, and this book aims to remove as much of the complexity as possible, to present techniques that work, and to discuss these in a clear-cut manner. Students who start with thisbook will learn with confidence that these methods will steer them straight down an effective path. A concise and eminently useful guide, Oboe Art and Method is a must-have for all who perform, teach, or are learning to play the oboe, in both conservatories and private instruction.
The Oboe by
The oboe, including its earlier forms the shawm and the hautboy, is an instrument with a long and rich history. In this book two distinguished oboist-musicologists trace that history from its beginnings to the present time, discussing how and why the oboe evolved, what music was written for it, and which players were prominent. Geoffrey Burgess and Bruce Haynes begin by describing the oboe’s prehistory and subsequent development out of the shawm in the mid-seventeenth century. They then examine later stages of the instrument, from the classical hautboy to the transition to a keyed oboe and eventually the Conservatoire-system oboe. The authors consider the instrument’s place in Romantic and Modernist music and analyze traditional and avant-garde developments after World War II. Noting the oboe’s appearance in paintings and other iconography, as well as in distinctive musical contexts, they examine what this reveals about the instrument’s social function in different eras. Throughout the book they discuss the great performers, from the pioneers of the seventeenth century to the traveling virtuosi of the eighteenth, the masters of the romantic period and the legends of the twentieth century such as Gillet, Goossens, Tabuteau, and Holliger. With its extensive illustrations, useful technical appendices, and discography, this is a comprehensive and authoritative volume that will be the essential companion for every woodwind student and performer.
Music for Oboe, Oboe d'Amore, and English Horn: A Bibliography of Materials at the Library of Congress by
Performers and schools will find this volume useful to identify music written for the sometimes odd instrumental combinations that require music to perform. In addition, Gifford provides access to many difficult-to-find arrangements of famous works for oboe, oboe d'amore, and English horn. Indexes of publishers, instruments, and composers make it possible to attempt to purchase or locate the listed items. Library of Congress call numbers are provided for each entry. Also listed are method books and books about these instruments at the Library of Congress. Gifford's book is unique in its coverage of a large, specialized collection and is recommended for purchase by high school, conservatory, and college libraries supporting active performing programs.”– Choice
Oboen-Bibliographie by 
Music for Oboe, 1650-1800: A Bibliography by
This revised edition lists over 10,000 works for the oboe, English horn, oboe da caccia, and all of their variants for the period up to ca. 1800. Each entry includes the title, opus or register number, date, exact instrumentation, location of the original work, existing modern editions(s), and historical notes of interest.
Bibliography and discography on Music for Solo Wind Instruments and Orchestra by 