Skip to main content

Oboe: Home

Oboe

This guide is designed to help you find information about, and music for, the oboe. Use this as a starting point, or browsing tool. As always, consult our catalog for complete holdings information, and when uncertain, ask at the Reference Desk!

Oboe

Eakins: Portrait of Benjamin Sharpe (1903)

New Grove article

Recommend a Purchase

You can recommend purchases of oboe-related scores, audio/video recordings, or books. Please notify Music Librarian Dan Zager with recommended titles.

Sibley Music Library

Location:

Miller Center, 27 Gibbs St. (across the street from Eastman School of Music) 2nd – 4th floors


Phone (Library Office): 585-274-1350
Phone (Reference): 585-274-1320
Phone (Special Collections): 585-274-1335
Phone (Circulation Desk): 585-274-1300
Fax: 585-274-1380
https://www.esm.rochester.edu/sibley/

Hours During School Terms

Monday – Thursday 8:00 a.m. – 11:00 p.m.
Friday 8:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Saturday 10:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Sunday 1:00 p.m. – 11:00 p.m.

Call number browsing

M65–M69  Oboe alone:
     M65      Collections (more than one composer)
     M66      Original works: Collections (one composer)
     M67      Original works: Separate
     M68      Arrangements: Collections (one composer)
     M69      Arrangements: Separate works
 M110.E5  English horn
 M245–M247  Oboe with piano accompaniment:
     M245      Collections (different composers)
     M246      Separate works, original
     M247      Separate works: arrangements
 M270.E5  English horn
 M288–M289  Duets for two wind instruments (of all kinds):
     M288      Collections
     M289      Separate works
 M290–M291  Duets—one stringed and one wind instrument
 M296–M297  Duets—one wind and one plucked instrument
 M315–M319  Piano and two wind instruments
 M320–M324  Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument
 M335–M339  Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument
 M355–M359  Three wind instruments
 M360–M364  Three stringed and wind instruments
 M375–M379  Three wind and plucked instruments

 

Concertos and similar pieces

 M1022  Oboe with orchestra, full scores
 M1022.5  Cadenzas for such works
 M1023  Oboe with orchestra, piano reductions
 M1034.E5  English horn
 M1122  Oboe with string orchestra, full scores
 M1122.5  Cadenzas for such works
 M1121  Oboe with string orchestra, piano reductions
 M1134.E5  English horn

 

Oboe studies and methods

 MT360  General works
 MT362  Systems and methods
 MT363  Teaching pieces
 MT364  Instructive editions
 MT365  Studies and exercises
 MT366  Orchestral studies (excerpts)
 MT367  Two oboes
 MT368  Self-instructors
 MT376  English horn

 

Classification Numbers for Books about the Oboe

 ML128 .F58  Oboe bibliographies
 ML940  General works
 ML941  Construction
 ML942  Music and playing

Harvard Dictionary of Music entry

MGG entry

Ask a librarian

Rick McRae's picture
Rick McRae
Contact:
Sibley Music Library
27 Gibbs St.
(585) 274-1370

Ask Another Librarian

Jim Farrington's picture
Jim Farrington
Contact:
27 Gibbs St.
Rochester, NY 14618
585-274-1304
Website