Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Guitar: Reference Books and Selected Bibliography

Bibliographies on guitar and repertoire

Chaîné, Jacques, comp. The Orphée Data-Base of Guitar Records. Columbus: Editions Orphée, 1990.
          Ref. ML156.4.G96 C4 1990

Noad, Frederick M. The Virtual Guitarist: Hardware, Software, and Websites for The Guitar. NY: Schirmer, 1998.
          Ref. ML1015.G9 N739 1998

Purcell, Ron. Classic Guitar, Lute, and Vihuela Discography. Melville, NY: Belwin-Mills, 1976. ML156.4.I58 P98

Rezits, Joseph. The Guitarist’s Resource Guide: Guitar Music in Print and Books on the Art of Guitar. San Diego:
          Pallma Music, 1983. Ref. ML128 .G9 R467 1983

Schwarz, Werner. Guitar Bibliography: An International Listing of Theoretical Literature on Classical Guitar from
          the Beginning to the Present. Munchen: K.G. Saur, 1984. Ref. ML128 .G9 S411 1984

Summerfield, Maurice J. The Classical Guitar : Its Evolution and Players Since 1800, 2nd ed. Newcastle-upon-Tyne:
          Ashley Mark, 1991. Ref. ML399 .S955 C6 1991

Gilmore, George. Guitar Music Index: A Cross-Indexed and Graded Listing of Music in Print for Classical Guitar & Lute.
          Honolulu: Galliard Press, 1976. Ref. ML128 .G9 G486

Jape, Mijndert. Classical Guitar Music in Print. Philadelphia: Musicdata, Inc., 1989. Ref. ML118 .M988 vol.7, 1989
          (1998 suppl. ML118.M988 vol.7s 1998)

Litterll, David A., ed. String Sylabus (vol. 2, 1997). Bloomington, IN: American String Teachers Association, 1997.
          Ref. ML132.H3 A5 1997

Lyons, David B. Lute, Vihuela, Guitar to 1800: A Bibliography. Detroit: Information Coordinators, 1978.
          Ref. ML128 .L88 L991

McCutcheon, Meredith Alice. Guitar and Vihuela: An Annotated Bibliography. NY: Pendragon, 1985.
          Ref. ML128 .G9 M133 1985

Purcell, Ronald C. and Darien S. Mann. Guitar Music Collection of Vahdah Olcott-Bickford. Northridge: Music Library
           of California State University, Northridge: International Guitar Research Archive, 1991-.
          Ref. ML128 .G9 G96 1991

Smith, Dorman H., and Laurie Eagleson. Guitar and Lute Music in Periodicals: An Index. Berkeley: Fallen Leaf Press, 1990.
          Ref. ML128 .G9 S645 1990

Torpp Larsson, Jytte. Catalogue of the Rischel and Birket-Smith Collection of Guitar Music in the Royal Library of
          Copenhagen. Columbus : Editions Orphee, 1989. Ref. ML136 .C78 K82 T6 1989