Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Oxford bibliographies online by
Publication Date: 2011
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on musicology and ethnomusicology. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.
Thematic Catalogues in Music (2nd ed.) by In 1997, twenty-five years after its first publication, Thematic Catalogues in Music-An Annotated Bibliography (Pendragon Press, 1972) appeared in a completely revised and expanded Second Edition. It contains almost twice as many entries as its predecessor; virtually every one of the original entries has been updated; and the following noteworthy features have been added.1. A second introductory essay detailing trends and innovations in thematic cataloguing brought about by the revolution in technology of the past twenty years. 2. Appendices listing thematic catalogues in series; both by national organizations and publishers; a detailed up-to-date, country-by-country report of activities worldwide; a listing of major computerized databanks. 3. New double-column format. 4. Numerous illustrations and reproductions of pages from thematic catalogues of historical significance. The second edition continues the policy of listing all known thematic catalogues and indexes, including those in doctoral dissertations, masters essays, and computer databanks, as well as in-progress and unpublished works, plus reviews, and literature about thematic cataloguing. The original numbering of the 1972 entries has been retained, with new items appearing in proper alphabetical/chronological sequence but with the addition of decimal numbers and/or letters (363.1 or 960a). Lastly, the original historical introduction and special appendices of the first edition have been retained with emendations where needed.
Call Number: Ref. ML113.B871 T 1997
Publication Date: 1997-02-28
Collected Editions, Historical Series and Sets, and Monuments of Music by
Call Number: Ref. ML113.H646 C69 1997
Publication Date: 1997-01-01
Inventories some 8,000 historically important collected editions of music, including numbered monumental sets and composers' collected editions, as well as musicologically significant publishers' series and anthologies. The compilers have paid particular attention to series and sets published in eas
Music Research by Clear, concise, and practical, Music Research: A Handbook, Second Edition, introduces students to the major print and electronic research tools available today. With a strong focus on the connection between music and writing, this comprehensive guide is ideal for use in both undergraduate and graduate music courses that require students to engage in library research or to write research papers. FEATURES Rich pedagogy (evaluation checklists, guidelines for theses, appendices on major documentation styles, Library of Congress subject headings/call numbers, annotated bibliographies, and more) Expanded overview of the research process and various methodologies Updated chapter on online music content and more integrated coverage of Internet resources Updated companion website (www.oup.com/us/musresearch) containing related links, updates to bibliographies and readings, research tools listed by composer, and lists of core music journals and major professional music associations
Call Number: Ref. ML113.S192 M987 2013
Publication Date: 2012-07-24
Sourcebook for Research in Music by Since it was first published in 1993, the Sourcebook for Research in Music has become an invaluable resource in musical scholarship. The balance between depth of content and brevity of format makes it ideal for use as a textbook for students, a reference work for faculty and professional musicians, and as an aid for librarians. The introductory chapter includes a comprehensive list of bibliographical terms with definitions; bibliographic terms in German, French, and Italian; and the plan of the Library of Congress and the Dewey Decimal music classification systems. Integrating helpful commentary to instruct the reader on the scope and usefulness of specific items, this updated and expanded edition accounts for the rapid growth in new editions of standard works, in fields such as ethnomusicology, performance practice, women in music, popular music, education, business, and music technology. These enhancements to its already extensive bibliographies ensures that the Sourcebook will continue to be an indispensable reference for years to come.
Call Number: Ref. ML113.S425 S724 2015
Publication Date: 2015-06-01
Music Library and Research Skills by Concise and engaging, this text covers a wide range of reference sources for research in all genres of music. Through this practical introduction to the key concepts of music research, students will develop a firm understanding of the tools used to gather data, including what types of sourcesexist, how they are arranged, and how they may best be used to do research.
Call Number: Ref. ML3797.G686 M987 2016
Publication Date: 2016-10-17
RISM (Répertoire International des Sources Musicales)*
RISM is an international collective undertaking with the aim of comprehensively documenting surviving music sources anywhere in the world. Established in 1952 by the International Musicological Society and International Association of Music Libraries. The goal of RISM is to locate and catalog all surviving musical sources dating from the earliest times to about 1800, and in doing so to bring them to the attention of a much wider public.
Series A/II: Music manuscripts after 1600, is a database offers around 700,000 mainly manuscript sources cataloged in detail according to academic criteria. The manuscripts are currently stored in hundreds of libraries and archives around the world. They pass down to later generations the musical works of 30,000 composers. The catalog was made possible through cooperation between the International Inventory of Musical Sources (Répertoire International des Sources Musicales, RISM for short), the Bavarian State Library (Bayerische Staatsbibliothek) and the State Library of Berlin (Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin). The catalog entries comprise, among other things, information about the composers (including dates of birth and death), title, instrumentation and casting requirements of the works, as well as references to them in the specialist literature. The manuscripts themselves are described in detail in respect of scribe, and place and time of origin. In addition, practically every work can also be identified unambiguously by means of a music incipit. A variety of search fields makes it possible to investigate not only according to particular composers, work titles, or performance forces, but also by place and time of origin or various people like librettists, previous owners, or dedicatees.