LibGuides: Musicology: Home

Musicology

Admont-Rochester Codex (ca. 1103)

New Grove articles

Duckles, Vincent, Jann Pasler, Glenn Stanley, Thomas Christensen, Barbara H. Haggh, Robert Balchin, Laurence Libin, Tilman Seebass, Janet K. Page, Lydia Goehr, Bojan Bujic, Eric F. Clarke, Susan McClary, Jean Gribenski, Carolyn Gianturco, Pamela M. Potter, David Fallows, Miloš Velimirović, Gary Tomlinson, Gerard Béhague, Masakata Kanazawa, and Peter Platt. 2001 "Musicology." Grove Music Online.

Bohlman, Philip V. 2013 "Ethnomusicology." Grove Music Online.

Recommend a Purchase

You can recommend purchases of scores, audio/video recordings, or books. Please notify Music Librarian Jon Sauceda with recommended titles.

Dissertations

ProQuest Dissertations Full Text*
This database is the world’s most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. Note that not all institutions submit DMA dissertations.
Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology
Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology (DDM) is an international database of bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology, as well as in related musical, scientific, and humanistic disciplines. Currently containing over 14,000 records, including the corrected and updated contents of all earlier printed editions of Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology and supplements contributed from musicological centers throughout the world, the database is fully searchable. Please note that DDM does not include the dissertations themselves.
Eastman School of Music Dissertations
This collection contains Masters theses and doctoral dissertations that have been done at the Eastman School of Music. PhD dissertations since 1963 and DMA dissertations since 1970 have been sent to UMI and should be ordered from www.umi.com. These works are made available solely for the purposes of scholarship and criticism. Any further distribution without the copyright holder's permission is unlawful.

Ask A Librarian

Rick McRae

he, his, him

Email Me

Contact:

Sibley Music Library
27 Gibbs St.

(585) 274-1370

Ask Another Librarian

Jim Farrington

Email Me

Contact:

27 Gibbs St.
Rochester, NY 14618

585-274-1304

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Here are some online resources that will assist in performing music research. These all require login with a current NetID and password.

Oxford Music Online
Oxford Music Online is the access point for Oxford music reference subscriptions and products online. These include:
* New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
* New Grove Dictionary of American Music
* New Grove Dictionary of Opera
* New Grove Dictionary of Jazz,
* New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments
* Oxford Dictionary of Music
* Oxford Companion to Music
MGG Online
Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart (MGG) is a general encyclopedia of music, entirely in German. MGG is encyclopedic in the true sense of that term: it offers in-depth articles on every aspect of music as well as many related areas such as literature, philosophy, and visual arts. MGG Online contains the second print edition of MGG, published from 1994 to 2008, as well as current, continuous online updates and additions
Harvard Dictionary of Music
Wide ranging and reliable, this treasure trove includes entries on all the styles and forms in Western music; comprehensive articles on the music of Africa, Asia, Latin America, and the Near East; descriptions of instruments enriched by historical background; and articles that reflect today's beat, including popular music, jazz, and rock.
Brittanica Academic (Encyclopedia Brittanica)
The rich combination of the venerable Encyclopaedia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools provides the variety of reliable sources that students need to consult when conducting thorough collegiate research
Written by Nobel laureates, historians, curators, professors, and other notable experts
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is the first comprehensive online resource devoted to music of all the world’s peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music. The Encyclopedia includes audio and video examples via playlists, which are themed collections of materials and can be created by any user of the database. Users can create playlists containing whole videos, tracks, segments (clips) and/or other items such as links to any URL. Playlists can be annotated, edited, copied, shared, and all playlists contain their own unique static URL. Playlists can be used as lists of personal favorites, class viewing/listening assignments, or as a teaching resource for in-class use.

The "R" Projects

RISM
RISM is an international collective undertaking with the aim of comprehensively documenting surviving music sources anywhere in the world. Established in 1952 by the International Musicological Society and International Association of Music Libraries, the goal of RISM is to locate and catalog all surviving musical sources dating from the earliest times to about 1800, and in doing so to bring them to the attention of a much wider public.

Series A/II: Music manuscripts after 1600, is a database offers around 700,000 mainly manuscript sources cataloged in detail according to academic criteria. The manuscripts are currently stored in hundreds of libraries and archives around the world. They pass down to later generations the musical works of 30,000 composers. The catalog was made possible through cooperation between the International Inventory of Musical Sources (Répertoire International des Sources Musicales, RISM for short), the Bavarian State Library (Bayerische Staatsbibliothek) and the State Library of Berlin (Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin). The catalog entries comprise, among other things, information about the composers (including dates of birth and death), title, instrumentation and casting requirements of the works, as well as references to them in the specialist literature. The manuscripts themselves are described in detail in respect of scribe, and place and time of origin. In addition, practically every work can also be identified unambiguously by means of a music incipit. A variety of search fields makes it possible to investigate not only according to particular composers, work titles, or performance forces, but also by place and time of origin or various people like librettists, previous owners, or dedicatees.
RILM
Produced by Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale, Inc. (RILM), RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text (RAFT) enhances the bibliography of writings on music provided by RILM Abstracts with the addition of approximately one million pages of full-text content from more than 200 periodicals from 50 countries in 40 languages, published from the early 20th century to the present (many of which are not found in our other full-text offerings). Most coverage commences with the first issue of the journal and includes cover-to-cover full text for every included title. Therefore, in addition to scholarly articles and reviews, the database includes obituaries, editorials, correspondence, advertisements, news items, and more. Coverage of Conference Proceedings goes back to 1835.
RIPM
Répertoire International De La Presse Musicale (International Inventory Of The Musical Press) is one of four international cooperative bibliographic undertakings in music, alongside Le Répertoire international des sources musicales (RISM), Le Répertoire international de littérature musicale (RILM, above), and Le Répertoire international d’iconographie musicale (RIdIM). RIPM indexes only 19th century periodicals, but in a much more scholarly way than any other index. This multi-lingual index has been appearing as separate paper indexes since 1988, but this online index collocates what had become a somewhat unwieldy index at over 150 volumes. The hard copy volumes are still kept in Reference (ML128.P24 R24 and then alphabetical by title of the individual journal indexed).
RIdIM
As the international index of visual sources of music, dance, theatre and opera, Répertoire International d’Iconographie Musicale (RIdIM) has pursued dual aims since its establishment: firstly, it is charged with the cataloguing of visual sources of subject matters referring to music, dance, theatre and opera; and, secondly, it functions as a framework for their interpretation. Thus, the main objective of RIdIM is the development of methods, means and research centres for the classification, cataloguing and study of iconographical sources related to music, dance, theatre and opera. It is designed to assist performers, historians, librarians, instrument makers, record manufacturers and book publishers, among others in making the fullest use of visual materials for scholarly and practical purposes.

Writing and Citing Music

Writing and Citing Music
Writing about music, and citing music resources, is different than most other subjects. This Guide is designed to help.

Selected Library of Congress music classification numbers

M Music, General including scores

M1 .A1-1.A15 Music copied or printed in manuscript in the United States or the colonies before 1860
M1 .A5-2.3 Collections
M2-2.3 Collections of musical sources
M3-3.3 Collected works of individual composers
M3.3 First editions
M5-1490 Instrumental music

M1495-2199 Vocal music

ML Literature about music

ML25-28 Societies on music
ML 32-33 Institutions
ML35-38 Festivals. Congresses
ML40-44 Programs
ML47-54.8 Librettos. Scenarios
ML62-90 Special aspects. Including writings of musicians
ML93-96.5 Manuscripts, autographs, etc.
ML100-109 Dictionaries. Encyclopedias
ML110-111.5 Music librarianship
ML112-112.5 Music printing and publishing
ML112.8-158.8 Bibliography
ML159-3775 History and criticism
ML162-197   Special periods
ML162-169     Ancient
ML169.8-190   Medieval. Renaissance
ML193-197   1601-

ML198-360 By region or country

ML385-429   Biography
ML430-455   Composition
ML459-1380   Instruments and instrumental music

ML465-471   By period
ML475-547   By region or country
ML549-1093   Instruments
ML1100-1165   Chamber music
ML1200-1270   Orchestra
ML1299-1354   Band

ML1379-1380 Electronic music. Computer music
ML1400-3275 Vocal music

ML1499-1554     Choral music
ML1600-2888   Secular vocal music
ML2900-3275     Sacred vocal music

ML3300-3354   Program music
ML3400-3465   Dance music
ML3469-3541   Popular music
ML3544-3775   National music
ML3800-3923 Philosophy and physics of music
ML3845-3877   Aesthetics
ML3880-3915   Criticism
ML3928-3930 Literature for children

MT Music instruction and study

ML1-5 History and criticism
MT5.5-7 Music theory
MT20-32 Special methods
MT40-67 Composition. Elements and techniques of music

MT58-67 Forms

MT68 Improvisation. Accompaniment. Transposition.
MT70-74 Instrumentation and orchestration

MT90-146 Analysis and appreciation of musical works

MT95-100   Opera, ballet, etc.
MT110-115   Oratorios, cantatas, etc.
MT125-130   Orchestral music
MT140-145   Chamber and solo instrumental music
MT146   Popular music

MT170-810 Instrumental techniques

M820-915 Vocal techniques

MT918-948 School music
MT955-956 Musical theater

Musicology: Home

About this guide