Skip to main content

Trombone/Euphonium: Home

Trombone/Euphonium

This guide is designed to help you find information about, and music for, the trombone and the euphonium. Use this as a starting point, or browsing tool. As always, consult our catalog for complete holdings information, and when uncertain, ask at the Reference Desk!

Reni: San Gregorio Magno, Rome (1609)

New Grove article

Recommend a Purchase

You can recommend purchases of trombone- or euphonium-related scores, audio/video recordings, or books. Please notify Music Librarian Dan Zager with recommended titles.

Sibley Music Library

Location:

Miller Center, 27 Gibbs St. (across the street from Eastman School of Music) 2nd – 4th floors


Phone (Library Office): 585-274-1350
Phone (Reference): 585-274-1320
Phone (Special Collections): 585-274-1335
Phone (Circulation Desk): 585-274-1300
Fax: 585-274-1380
https://www.esm.rochester.edu/sibley/

Hours During School Terms

Monday – Thursday 8:00 a.m. – 11:00 p.m.
Friday 8:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Saturday 10:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Sunday 1:00 p.m. – 11:00 p.m.

Call number browsing

M90–M94  Trombone or bass trombone alone:
     M90      Collections (more than one composer)
     M91      Original works: collections (one composer)
     M92      Original works: separate
     M93      Arrangements: collections (one composer
     M94      Arrangements: separate works
 M262-M263  Trombone or bass trombone with piano:
     M262      Collections
     M263      Separate works
 M288–M289  Duets for two wind instruments (of all kinds):
     M288      Collections
     M289      Separate works
 M290–M291  Duets—one stringed and one wind instrument
 M296–M297  Duets—one wind and one plucked instrument
 M315–M319  Piano and two wind instruments
 M320–M324  Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument
 M335–M339  Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument
 M355–M359  Three wind instruments
 M360–M364  Three stringed and wind instruments
 M375–M379  Three wind and plucked instruments

 

Concertos and similar pieces

 M1032  Trombone with orchestra, full scores
 M1032.5  Cadenzas for such works
 M1033  Trombone with orchestra, piano reductions
 M1132  Trombone with string orchestra, full scores
 M1132.5  Cadenzas for such works
 M1133  Trombone with string orchestra, piano reductions

 

Studies and methods

 MT460  General works
 MT462  Systems and methods
 MT463  Teaching pieces
 MT464  Instructive editions
 MT465  Studies and exercises
 MT466  Orchestral studies
 MT467  Two trombones
 MT468  Self-instructors
 MT472  Bass trombone or contrabass trombone

 

Classification Numbers for Books about the Trombone

 ML128 .T76  Trombone bibliographies
 ML965  General works
 ML966  Construction
 ML968  Music and playing

Eastman Trombone/Euphonium Links

Harvard Dictionary of Music entry

Ask a librarian

Rick McRae's picture
Rick McRae
Contact:
Sibley Music Library
27 Gibbs St.
(585) 274-1370

Ask Another Librarian

Jim Farrington's picture
Jim Farrington
Contact:
27 Gibbs St.
Rochester, NY 14618
585-274-1304
Website