Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Viola: Reference Books and Selected Bibliography

Bibliographies on viola and repertoire

Farish, Margaret. String Music in Print. Philadelphia: Musicdata, 1980. Ref. ML118 .M988
          (1998 Supplement Ref. ML118 .M988 vol.6t 1998)

20th Century Music for Young String Students. Evanston, IL: Plandanco, 1992-.
          Ref. ML132.S7 F228

Hurley, C. Gregory. String Syllabus (Vol. 1). S.l.: American String Teachers Association, 2003.
          Ref. ML132.V4 A5 2003

Jappe, Michael and Dorothea. Viola Bibliographie: Das Repertoire für die historische Bratsche
          von 1649 bis nach 1800; Kommentiertes Thematisches Verzeichnis. Winterthur:
          Amadeus, 1999. Ref ML128.V36 J35 1999

Klugherz, Laura. A Bibliographical Guide to Spanish Music for the Violin and Viola, 1900-
          1997. Westport: Greenwood, 1998. ML128.V4 K66 1998

Letz, Hans. Music for the Violin and Viola. NY: Rinehart, 1948. Ref. ML132 .V79 L65

Littrell, David. String Syllabus: Violin, Viola, Cello, Double Bass, Ensembles. Bloomington, IN:
          Tichenor, American String Teachers Association, 2000. Ref ML128.S7 A5 2000

Toskey, Burnett R. Concertos for Violin and Viola: A Comprehensive Encyclopedia. Seattle:
          B.R. Toskey, 1983. Ref. ML128 .V4 T7 1983 

Weaver, Michael Alan. Works for the Viola by Pulitzer Prize Winning Composers: An Annotated
          Bibliography. Lewiston, N.Y. : E. Mellen Press, 2006. Ref. ML128.V36 W363 2006 

Wilkins, Wayne. The Index of Viola Music. Magnolia, AR: Music Register, 1976-79.
          Ref. ML128 .V36 W685I 

Williams, Michael D. Music for Viola. Detroit Studies in Music Bibliography, no. 42. Detroit:
          Information Coordinators, 1979. Ref. ML128 .V36 W725 

Zeyringer, Franz. Literatur für Viola. Hartberg: Schonwetter, 1963-85. Ref. ML128 .V36 Z6
          1985 (also here)

Berman, Joel, et al. Dictionary of Bowing and Pizzicato Terms. 4th ed. [Bloomington]: American
          String Teachers Association, 1999. Ref. ML108.B516 D5 1999

Pounds, Dwight R. The American Viola Society: A History and Reference. Provo, UT: American
          Viola Society, 1995. Ref. ML128 .V36 P876 1995 

Riley, Maurice W. The History of the Viola. 2 vol. [Ann Arbor: Braun-Brumfield], 1980-1991. 
          ML900.R573 H6