Skip to main content

Viola: Home

Viola

This guide is designed to help you find information about, and music for, the viola. Use this as a starting point, or browsing tool. As always, consult our catalog for complete holdings information, and when uncertain, ask at the Reference Desk!

Viola

Recommend a Purchase

You can recommend purchases of viola-related scores, audio/video recordings, or books. Please notify Music Librarian Dan Zager with recommended titles.

Call number browsing

M45–M49  Viola alone:
     M45      Collections (more than one composer)
     M46      Original works: Collections (one composer)
     M47      Original works: Separate
     M48      Arrangements: Collections (one composer)
     M49      Arrangements: Separate works
 M224–M228  Viola with piano accompaniment:
     M224      Collections (more than one composer)
     M225      Original works: Collections (one composer)
     M226      Original works: Separate
     M227      Arrangements: Collections (one composer)
     M228      Arrangements: Separate works
 M286–M287  Duets for two stringed instruments (of all kinds):
     M286      Collections
     M287      Separate works
 M290–M291  Duets—one stringed and one wind instrument
 M294–M295  Duets—one stringed and one plucked instrument
 M310–M314  Piano and two stringed instruments
 M320–M324  Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument
 M330–M334  Piano, one stringed, and one plucked instrument
 M349–M353  Three stringed instruments
 M360–M364  Three stringed and wind instruments
 M370–M374  Three stringed and plucked instruments
 M450  Quartets—Collections (more than one composer and medium)
 M451  Quartets—Collections (more than one composer)
 M452  Quartets—two violins, viola, violoncello
 M452.2  Quartets—four violins
 M452.4  Quartets—other combinations of stringed instruments

 

Concertos and similar pieces

 M1014  Viola with orchestra, full scores
 M1014.5  Cadenzas for such works
 M1015  Viola with orchestra, piano reductions
 M1114  Viola with string orchestra, full scores
 M1114.5  Cadenzas for such works
 M1115  Viola with string orchestra, piano reductions

 

Studies and methods

 MT280  General works
 MT282  Systems and methods
 MT285  Studies and exercises: General works
 MT286  Orchestral studies (excerpts)
 MT287  Bowing
 MT288  Positions
 MT289  Chords
 MT290  Harmonics
 MT291  Other techniques
 MT292  Two violas
 MT294  Teaching pieces
 MT295  Instructive editions: Two or more composers
 MT297  Instructive editions: One composer
 MT298  Self-instructors

 

Classification Numbers for Books about the Viola

 ML128 .V36  Viola bibliographies
 ML900  General works
 ML901  Construction
 ML905  Music and playing

Harvard Dictionary of Music entry

Ask a librarian

Rick McRae's picture
Rick McRae
Contact:
Sibley Music Library
27 Gibbs St.
(585) 274-1370

Ask Another Librarian

Jim Farrington's picture
Jim Farrington
Contact:
27 Gibbs St.
Rochester, NY 14618
585-274-1304
Website