Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.
All Things Strings by String players face a bewildering array of terms related to their instruments. Because string playing is a living art form, passed directly from master to student, the words used to convey complex concepts such as bow techniques and fingering systems have developed into an extensive vocabulary that can be complicated, vague, and even contradictory. Many of these terms are derived from French, Italian, or German, yet few appear in any standard music dictionary. Moreover, the gulf separating classical playing from fiddle, bluegrass, jazz, and other genres has generated style-specific terms rarely codified into any reference work. All Things Strings: An Illustrated Dictionary bridges this gap, serving as the only comprehensive resource for the terminology used by the modern string family of instruments. All of the terms pertaining to violin, viola, cello, and double bass, inclusive of all genres and playing styles, are defined, explained, and illustrated in a single text. Entries include techniques from shifting to fingerboard mapping to thumb position; the entire gamut of bowstrokes; terms found in orchestral parts; instrument structure and repair; accessories and equipment; ornaments (including those used in jazz and bluegrass); explanations of various bow holds; conventions of orchestral playing; and types of strings, as well as information on a select number of famous luthiers, influential pedagogues, and legendary performers. All Thing Strings is expertly illustrated with original drawings by T. M. Larsen and musical examples from the standard literature. Appendixes include an extensive bibliography of recommended reading for string players and a detailed chart of bowstrokes showing notation and explaining execution. As the single best source for understanding string instruments and referencing all necessary terminology, All Things Strings is an essential tool for performers, private teachers, college professors, and students at all levels. It is also an invaluable addition to the libraries of orchestra directors and composers wishing to better understand the complexities of string playing. With the inclusion of terms relevant to all four modern string instruments played in all genres--from jazz to bluegrass to historically informed performance--this resource serves the needs of every string musician.
Publication Date: 2014
Violin Secrets: 101 Strategies for the Advanced Violinist by In Violin Secrets: 101 Performance Strategies for the Advanced Violinist, author and violinist Jo Nardolillo surveys the cutting edge of current violin technique, combining tradition and innovation in one volume. Blending traditional strategies that have produced generations of legendary performers with modern ideas, Nardolillo reveals the secrets of today's most sought-after master teachers, garnered through her decade of study at top conservatories across the nation. With more than a quarter century of experience teaching at the advanced level, she has refined and distilled these essential concepts into clear, concise, step-by-step instructions, complete with original illustrations and helpful tips. Violin Secrets is an indispensable resource for any and all serious violinists. The first chapter tackles the toughest challenge on the wish list of every established professional, dedicated student, and passionate amateur: understanding why immaculate intonation is so difficult (and exploring ways to achieve it). Further chapters address the advanced techniques of fingerboard mapping, mastering spiccato, controlling vibrato, playing into the curve, small-hand technique, and navigating comfortably in high positions. An extensive section on practice strategies blends concepts from learning theory, sports psychology, and Zen, and the chapter on artistry offers insight on creating expressive phrases, connecting with the audience, and developing a unique artistic voice. Violin Secrets examines overcoming performance anxiety, choosing the right music editions, being a strong section player in an orchestra, leading productive chamber music rehearsals, and winning auditions. Violin Secrets is beautifully illustrated with original drawings by T. M. Larsen, musical examples from the standard literature, and a violinist's family tree that traces these secrets back through to the founding fathers of violin technique. The Music Secrets for the Advanced Musician series is designed for instrumentalists, singers, conductors, composers, and other instructors and professionals seeking a quick set of pointers to improve their work as performers and producers of music. Easy to use and intended for the advanced musician, contributions to Music Secrets fill a niche for those who have moved beyond what beginners and intermediate practitioners need.
Call Number: MT260.N224 V79 2015
Publication Date: 2015
The orchestral violinist's companion by Vol. 1. Training, practicing and sight-reading, basic orchestral technique, bowing technique and sound production
v. 2. Left-hand technique, pizzicato and other special techniques, rhythm and ensemble playing, notation and performance practice, repertoire and style, profession and career, resources
Call Number: MT260.W962 O64 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Miscellaneous Books About the Violin
The Violin by With a colorful history that spans 450 years, the violin has proven to be one of the world's most important and versatile instruments. Addressed to performing musicians, serious concertgoers, and collectors of recordings, The Violin offers insightful, up-to-date essays on a wide range of topics. Essays discuss beloved masterpieces from the violin's solo repertoire, with individual chapters on the Italian Baroque, Bach, Mozart, Beethoven, and the violin concerto in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, as well as the evolution of performance styles and interpretation as documented in recordings. The volume also illustrates the broad cultural and geographic reach of the instrument, offering readers a taste of the traditional music of Argentina, Mexico, Norway, and India, in which the violin's participation is an essential and characteristic element. Other chapters are devoted to American fiddling and to the violin and violinists as metaphors in literature and the visual arts. CONTRIBUTORS: Chris Goertzen, Eitan Ornoy, Robert Riggs, Peter Walls, Peter Wollny. Musicologist and violinist Robert Riggs (PhD, Harvard University) chairs the Department of Music at the University of Mississippi and is the author of articles on Mozart as well as the monograph Leon Kirchner: Composer, Performer, and Teacher (URP 2010).
Call Number: ML800 .V795 2016
Publication Date: 2016
The Violin: A social history of the world's most versatile instrument by A 16-ounce package of polished wood, strings, and air, the violin is perhaps the most affordable, portable, and adaptable instrument ever created. As congenial to reels, ragas, Delta blues, and indie rock as it is to solo Bach and late Beethoven, it has been played standing or sitting, alone or in groups, in bars, churches, concert halls, lumber camps, even concentration camps, by pros and amateurs, adults and children, men and women, at virtually any latitude on any continent. Despite dogged attempts by musicologists worldwide to find its source, the violin's origins remain maddeningly elusive. The instrument surfaced from nowhere in particular, in a world that Columbus had only recently left behind and Shakespeare had yet to put on paper. By the end of the violin's first century, people were just discovering its possibilities. But it was already the instrument of choice for some of the greatest music ever composed by the end of its second. By the dawn of its fifth, it was established on five continents as an icon of globalization, modernization, and social mobility, an A-list trophy, and a potential capital gain. In The Violin, David Schoenbaum has combined the stories of its makers, dealers, and players into a global history of the past five centuries. From the earliest days, when violin makers acquired their craft from box makers, to Stradivari and the Golden Age of Cremona; Vuillaume and the Hills, who turned it into a global collectib≤ and incomparable performers from Paganini and Joachim to Heifetz and Oistrakh, Schoenbaum lays out the business, politics, and art of the world's most versatile instrument.
Call Number: ML800.S365 V795 2012
Publication Date: 2012
The Violin: An Illustrated History by The violin speaks with a musical purity that unites people across centuries, cultures, and languages. In this book Yehudi Menuhin paints a compelling portrait of this instrument, and of the people who have fallen under its spell
Call Number: ML800.M549 L511 2009 ; Media 989 (book & CD)
Publication Date: 2009
The Miracle Makers: Stradivari, Guarneri, Olivera A catalog and history (including comparative illustrations) of all known Stradivarius and Guarnerius violins.
The first 2 compact discs contain works performed on at least two different instruments; the last contains an excerpt from the Sibelius Violin concerto, op. 47, performed on all 30 instruments (Elmar Oliveira, violin ; Nelson Padegtt, piano).
Call Number: Media 238
Publication Date: 1998
Bibliographies on violin and repertoire
The Violin: A Research and Information Guide by Reference and general studies. General music reference ; Electronic resources ; General violin bibliographies ; Discography ; Periodicals : General, Acoustics and construction, Violin playing and violin music ; General studies of the violin
Violin : Acoustics and construction. Acoustics and mechanics ; General studies ; Sound vibration and radiation ; Studies by materials, parts ; Violin making : construction and repair ; Reference ; History and general studies ; Treatises, manuals, and guides ; Experimental violins ; Studies by region ; Violin makers ; Collective studies and reference ; Individual makers and families ; The bow ; General ; Physics and mechanics ; History ; Construction, repair, and maintenance ; Bow makers ; Studies if individual makers and families ; Collecting and dealing ; Authentication : frauds and forgeries
Violin playing and performance practice. History of violin playing ; General studies ; Studies by period ; Studies by region ; Studies by style ; Studies by technique, performance practice ; Pedagogy ; History, general studies, and reference ; Manuals, methods, and treatises ; Competitions ; Health issues ; Violin playing and recording technology
Violin music. Reference : lists and guides ; General surveys ; Studies by genre ; Concertos ; Sonatas and other keyboard-accompanied works ; Unaccompanied violin ; Other ; Studies by period ; Studies by region ; Studies by composer
Violinists, violinist-composers, and violin teachers. Reference ; Collective biographies ; Studies by region ; Women violinists ; Violinists of African descent ; Folk violinists ; Individual biographies.
Call Number: Ref. ML128.V4 K19 2006
Publication Date: 2006-02-09
The Canon of Violin Literature by As part of Scarecrow Press's Music Finders series, this go-to reference source provides pertinent information about the standard repertoire of works heard today in the great concert halls and recorded by the most prominent professionals. Drawing on extensive research of musical programs performed on the world's stages, Nardolillo selects only those works performed and recorded by great performers and regularly studied in conservatories by students of leading pedagogues.Organized alphabetically by composer, each entry in The Canon of Violin Literature includes the title, date of composition, date and performer of premiere, key, duration, instrumentation, and movements of the work. In addition, entries include brief notes offering historical, technical, and performance information crucial to study of the work. Finally, each entry offers information on the publishers, editions, and editors of the sheet music, concluding with a list of several recordings by famous artists and recommended books for further information about the piece. Appendixes include a chronological listing of the works, a grouping by genre, an index of piece titles, an index of performers, and a bibliography of other reference books for violinists. In addition to hard-to-find information on premieres, commissions, and editions, The Canon of Violin Literature supplies performers and teachers with the name of the violinist who provided fingerings and bowings for each edition, as well as accurate dates for when the work was edited.The Canon of Violin Literature is for performers of violin repertoire; private teachers and college professors in need of a guide to help them assign appropriate works for students' recitals, juries, and competitions; and chamber series directors, musicologists, and editors planning concert seasons, creating programs, and writing liner notes for recordings.
Call Number: Ref. ML128.V4 N224 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Music for solo violin unaccompanied by
Call Number: Ref. ML128.V7 M313 1983
Publication Date: 1983
A performer's guide to the published literature of the seventeenth, eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries.