Skip to main content

Violin: Home

Violin

This guide is designed to help you find information about, and music for, the violin. Use this as a starting point, or browsing tool. As always, consult our catalog for complete holdings information, and when uncertain, ask at the Reference Desk!

Violin

New Grove article

Recommend a Purchase

You can recommend purchases of violin-related scores, audio/video recordings, or books. Please notify Music Librarian Dan Zager with recommended titles.

Sibley Music Library

Location:

Miller Center, 27 Gibbs St. (across the street from Eastman School of Music) 2nd – 4th floors


Phone (Library Office): 585-274-1350
Phone (Reference): 585-274-1320
Phone (Special Collections): 585-274-1335
Phone (Circulation Desk): 585-274-1300
Fax: 585-274-1380
Web: https://www.esm.rochester.edu/sibley/

Hours During School Terms

Monday – Thursday 8:00 a.m. – 11:00 p.m.
Friday 8:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Saturday 10:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Sunday 1:00 p.m. – 11:00 p.m.

Call number browsing

M40–M44  Violin alone:
     M40      Collections (more than one composer)
     M41      Original works: Collections (one composer)
     M42      Original works: Separate
     M43      Arrangements: Collections (one composer)
     M44      Arrangements: Separate works
 M217–M223  Violin with piano accompaniment:
     M217      Collections (more than one composer)
     M218      Original works: Collections (one composer)
     M219      Sonatas
     M220      Suites and variations
     M221      Pieces
     M222      Arrangements: Collections (one composer)
     M223      Arrangements: Separate works
 M286–M287  Duets for two stringed instruments (of all kinds):
     M286      Collections
     M287      Separate works
 M290–M291  Duets—one stringed and one wind instrument
 M294–M295  Duets—one stringed and one plucked instrument
 M310–M314  Piano and two stringed instruments
 M320–M324  Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument
 M330–M334  Piano, one stringed, and one plucked instrument
 M349–M353  Three stringed instruments
 M360–M364  Three stringed and wind instruments
 M370–M374  Three stringed and plucked instruments
 M450  Quartets—Collections (more than one composer and medium)
 M451  Quartets—Collections (more than one composer)
 M452  Quartets—two violins, viola, violoncello
 M452.2  Quartets—four violins
 M452.4  Quartets—other combinations of stringed instruments

 

Concertos and similar pieces

 M1012  Violin with orchestra, full scores
 M1012.5  Cadenzas for such works
 M1013  Violin with orchestra, piano reductions
 M1112  Violin with string orchestra, full scores
 M1112.5  Cadenzas for such works
 M1113  Violin with string orchestra, piano reductions

 

Studies and methods

 MT260  General works
 MT261  Physiology of the hand
 MT262  Systems and methods
 MT265  Studies and exercises: General works
 MT266  Orchestral studies
 MT267  Bowing
 MT268  Positions
 MT269  Chords
 MT270  Harmonics
 MT271  Other techniques
 MT272  Two violins
 MT274  Teaching pieces
 MT275-6  Instructive editions
 MT278  Self-instructors
 MT279.5  Fiddling; Folk-style violin playing
 MT279.7  Jazz

 

Classification Numbers for Books about the Violin

 ML128 .V4  Violin bibliographies
 ML802  Construction:. general works
 ML803–M807  Construction: by period
 ML810–M842  Construction: by region or country
 ML845  Construction: by parts of the violin
 ML850  Music and playing: general works
 ML853–M857  Music and playing: by period
 ML860–M892  Music and playing: by region or country
 ML895–M897  Music and playing: by form and type (sonata, suite, other)

Harvard Dictionary of Music entry

Ask a librarian

Rick McRae's picture
Rick McRae
Contact:
Sibley Music Library
27 Gibbs St.
(585) 274-1370

Ask Another Librarian

Jim Farrington's picture
Jim Farrington
Contact:
27 Gibbs St.
Rochester, NY 14618
585-274-1304
Website