Skip to main content

Flute: Home

About this guide

This guide is designed to help you find information about, and music for, the flute and related instruments. Use this as a starting point, or browsing tool. As always, consult our catalog for complete holdings information, and when uncertain, ask at the Reference Desk!

Flute

Leyster. Boy Playing the Flute

New Grove article

Recommend a Purchase

You can recommend purchases of flute-related scores, audio/video recordings, or books. Please notify Music Librarian Dan Zager with recommended titles.

Sibley Music Library

Location:

Miller Center, 27 Gibbs St. (across the street from Eastman School of Music) 2nd – 4th floors


Phone (Library Office): 585-274-1350
Phone (Reference): 585-274-1320
Phone (Special Collections): 585-274-1335
Phone (Circulation Desk): 585-274-1300
Fax: 585-274-1380
https://www.esm.rochester.edu/sibley/

Hours During School Terms

Monday – Thursday 8:00 a.m. – 11:00 p.m.
Friday 8:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Saturday 10:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Sunday 1:00 p.m. – 11:00 p.m.

Call number browsing

M60–M64  Flute or alto flute alone:
     M60      Collections (more than one composer)
     M61      Original works: Collections (one composer):
     M62      Original works: Separate
     M63      Arrangements: Collections (one composer):
     M64      Arrangements: Separate works
 M110.P5  Piccolo
 M240–M244  Flute or alto flute with piano accompaniment:
     M240      Collections (more than one composer
     M241      Original works: Collections (one composer)
     M242      Original works: Separate
     M243      Arrangements: Collections (one composer)
     M244      Arrangements: Separate works
 M270.P45  Piccolo with piano accompaniment
 M288–M289  Duets for two wind instruments (of all kinds):
     M288      Collections
     M289      Separate works
 M290–M291  Duets—one stringed and one wind instrument
 M296–M297  Duets—one wind and one plucked instrument
 M315–M319  Piano and two wind instruments
 M320–M324  Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument
 M335–M339  Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument
 M355–M359  Three wind instruments
 M360–M364  Three stringed and wind instruments
 M375–M379  Three wind and plucked instruments

 

Concertos and similar pieces:

 M1020  Flute or alto flute with orchestra, full scores
 M1020.5  Cadenzas for such works
 M1021  Flute or alto flute with orchestra, piano reductions
 M1034.P5  Piccolo with orchestra, full scores
 M1034.5.P5  Cadenzas for such works
 M1035.P5  Piccolo with orchestra, piano reductions
 M1120  Flute or alto flute with string orchestra, full scores
 M1120.5  Cadenzas for such works
 M1121  Flute or alto flute with string orchestra, piano reductions
 M1134.P5  Piccolo with string orchestra, full scores
 M1134.5.P5  Cadenzas for such works
 M1135.P5  Piccolo with string orchestra, piano reductions

 

Flute studies and methods

 MT340  General works
 MT342  Systems and methods
 MT343  Teaching pieces
 MT344  Instructive editions
 MT345  Studies and exercises
 MT346  Orchestral studies (excerpts)
 MT347  Two flutes
 MT348  Self-instructors
 MT356  Fife
 MT357  Piccolo

 

Classification Numbers for Books about the Flute

 ML128 .F58  Flute bibliographies
 ML935  General works
 ML936  Construction
 ML937  Music and playing

Harvard Dictionary of Music entry

Ask a librarian

Rick McRae's picture
Rick McRae
Contact:
Sibley Music Library
27 Gibbs St.
(585) 274-1370

Ask Another Librarian

Jim Farrington's picture
Jim Farrington
Contact:
27 Gibbs St.
Rochester, NY 14618
585-274-1304
Website