A Dictionary for the Modern Clarinetist by
In A Dictionary for the Modern Clarinet, scholar and musician Jane Ellsworth offers lovers of the clarinet the premiere reference book for information about this remarkable instrument. Containing over 400 terms, Ellsworth covers the clarinet's history (including both modern and historical instruments, common and rare), acoustics, construction, fingering systems and mechanisms, and techniques, as well as its more important performers, makers, and scholars.
Lexikon der Holzblasinstrumente: Oboe, Klarinette, Saxophon und Fagott by 
Clarinet Secrets by
Clarinet Secrets is a 52-week course of performance strategies for advanced clarinetists. This revised edition contains updated information on harmonics and other techniques, electronic music and equipment, expanded techniques for playing Klezmer music, and new and updated photos and diagrams.
More Clarinet Secrets by
It takes considerable patience, hard work, and perseverance to achieve mastery on a musical instrument. Proper guidance is critical to success in music, and part of that guidance includes finding resources that provide up-to-date strategies for reaching your professional goals. More Clarinet Secrets: 100 Quick Tips for the Advanced Clarinetist does just that, revealing secrets of the trade that can increase your chances of thriving as a clarinetist and musical professional.
The Clarinet by
The clarinet has a long and rich history as a solo, orchestral, and chamber musical instrument. In this broad-ranging account Eric Hoeprich, a performer, teacher, and expert on historical clarinets, explores its development, repertoire, and performance history. Looking at the antecedents of the clarinet, as well as such related instruments as the chalumeau, basset horn, alto clarinet, and bass clarinet, Hoeprich explains the use and development of the instrument in the Baroque age. The period from the late 1700s to Beethoven's early years is shown to have fostered ever wider distribution and use of the instrument, and a repertoire of increasing richness. The first half of the nineteenth century, a golden age for the clarinet, brought innovation in construction and great virtuosity in performance, while the following century and a half produced a surge in new works from many composers. The author also devotes a chapter to the role of the clarinet in bands, folk music, and jazz.
The Cambridge Companion to the Clarinet by
The Cambridge Companion to the Clarinet is a practical guide to the world of the clarinet. It offers students and performers a composite survey of the history and repertory of the instrument from its origins to the present day, as well as practical guidance on teaching and playing from historical performance to contemporary techniques and jazz. Informed by the experience of distinguished professional players and teachers, this book makes an essential and stimulating reference book for all clarinet enthusiasts.
Clarinet Solos de Concours, 1897-1980: An Annotated Bibliography by 
Catalog of the International Clarinet Society Score Collection by 
Solos for Unaccompanied Clarinet by 
Notes for Clarinetists by
Notes for Clarinetists: A Guide to the Repertoire offers important historical and analytical information about thirty-five of the best-known pieces written for the instrument. Numerous contextual and theoretical insights make it an essential resource for professional, amateur, and studentclarinetists. With engaging prose supported by fact-filled analytical charts, the book offers rich biographical information and informative analyses to help clarinetists gain a more complete understanding of Three Pieces for Clarinet Solo by Igor Stravinsky, Aaron Copland's Concerto for Clarinet,String Orchestra, Harp, and Piano, Robert Schumann's Fantasy Pieces for Clarinet and Piano, Op. 73. and Time Pieces for Clarinet and Piano, Op. 43. by Robert Muczynski, among many others.With close attention to matters of context, style, and harmonic and formal analysis, Albert Rice explores a significant portion of the repertoire, and offers a faithful and comprehensive guide that includes works by Boulez, Brahms, and Mozart to Hindemith, Poulenc, and Stamitz. Rice includesbiographical information on each composer and highlights history's impact on the creation and performance of important works for clarinet. Intended as a starting point for connecting performance studies with scholarship, Rice's analysis will help clarinetists gain a more complete picture of a given work. Its valuable insights make it essential to musicians preparing and presenting programs, and its detailed historical information aboutthe work and composer will encourage readers to explore other works in a similarly analytical way. Covering concertos, chamber pieces, and works for solo clarinet, Rice presents Notes for Clarinetists as an indispensable handbook for students and professionals alike.
Contemporary Clarinet Repertoire for Clarinet and Electronics by 
Bibliography and discography on Music for Solo Wind Instruments and Orchestra by 