Skip to main content

Clarinet: Home

Clarinet

This guide is designed to help you find information about, and music for, the clarinet. Use this as a starting point, or browsing tool. As always, consult our catalog for complete holdings information, and when uncertain, ask at the Reference Desk!

Clarinet

Bechi, Boy Playing Clarinet

New Grove article

Recommend a Purchase

You can recommend purchases of clarinet-related scores, audio/video recordings, or books. Please notify Music Librarian Dan Zager with recommended titles.

Sibley Music Library

Location:

Miller Center, 27 Gibbs St. (across the street from Eastman School of Music) 2nd – 4th floors


Phone (Library Office): 585-274-1350
Phone (Reference): 585-274-1320
Phone (Special Collections): 585-274-1335
Phone (Circulation Desk): 585-274-1300
Fax: 585-274-1380
https://www.esm.rochester.edu/sibley/

Hours During School Terms

Monday – Thursday 8:00 a.m. – 11:00 p.m.
Friday 8:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Saturday 10:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Sunday 1:00 p.m. – 11:00 p.m.

Call number browsing

M70–M74  Clarinet or bass (alto, basset, etc.) clarinet alone:
     M70      Collections (more than one composer)
     M71      Original works: Collections (one composer)
     M72      Original works: Separate
     M73      Arrangements: Collections (one composer)
     M74      Arrangements: Separate works
 M248–M252  Clarinet or bass (alto, basset, etc.) clarinet with piano accompaniment:
     M248      Collections (more than one composer)
     M249      Original works: Collections (one composer)
     M250      Original works: Separate
     M251      Arrangements: Collections (one composer)
     M252      Arrangements: Separate works
 M288–M289  Duets for two wind instruments (of all kinds):
     M288      Collections
     M289      Separate works
 M290–M291  Duets—one stringed and one wind Instrument
 M296–M297  Duets—one wind and one plucked instrument
 M315–M319  Piano and two wind instruments
 M320–M324  Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument
 M335–M339  Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument
 M355–M359  Three wind instruments
 M360–M364  Three stringed and wind instruments
 M375–M379  Three wind and plucked instruments

 

Concertos and similar pieces

 M1024  Clarinet or bass (alto, basset, etc.) clarinet with orchestra, full scores
 M1024.5  Cadenzas for such works
 M1025  Clarinet or bass (alto, basset, etc.) clarinet with orchestra, piano reductions
 M1124  Clarinet or bass (alto, basset, etc.) clarinet with string orchestra, full scores
 M1124.5  Cadenzas for such works
 M1125  Clarinet or bass (alto, basset, etc.) clarinet with string orchestra, piano reductions

 

Clarinet studies and methods

 MT380  General works
 MT382  Systems and methods
 MT383  Teaching pieces
 MT384  Instructive editions
 MT385  Studies and exercises
 MT386  Orchestral studies (excerpts)
 MT387  Two clarinets
 MT388

 Self-instructors

 

Bass clarinet studies and methods

 MT392  General works
 MT392.2  Systems and methods
 MT392.3  Studies and exercises
 MT392.4  Orchestral studies (excerpts)
 MT392.5  Teaching pieces
 MT392.6  Instructive editions
 MT392.7  Two bass clarinets
 MT392.8  Self-instructors

 

Classification Numbers for Books about the Clarinet

 ML128 .C58  Clarinet bibliographies
 ML945  General works
 ML946  Construction
 ML948  Music and playing

Harvard Dictionary of Music entry

Ask a librarian

Rick McRae's picture
Rick McRae
Contact:
Sibley Music Library
27 Gibbs St.
(585) 274-1370

Ask Another Librarian

Jim Farrington's picture
Jim Farrington
Contact:
27 Gibbs St.
Rochester, NY 14618
585-274-1304
Website