Skip to main content

Bassoon: Home

Bassoon

This guide is designed to help you find information about, and music for, the bassoon. Use this as a starting point, or browsing tool. As always, consult our catalog for complete holdings information, and when uncertain, ask at the Reference Desk!

Bassoon

Degas: l'Orchestre de l'Opéra (1869)

Degas: l'Orchestre de l'Opéra (1869)

New Grove article

Recommend a Purchase

You can recommend purchases of bassoon-related scores, audio/video recordings, or books. Please notify Music Librarian Dan Zager with recommended titles.

Sibley Music Library

Location:

Miller Center, 27 Gibbs St. (across the street from Eastman School of Music) 2nd – 4th floors


Phone (Library Office): 585-274-1350
Phone (Reference): 585-274-1320
Phone (Special Collections): 585-274-1335
Phone (Circulation Desk): 585-274-1300
Fax: 585-274-1380
https://www.esm.rochester.edu/sibley/

Hours During School Terms

Monday – Thursday 8:00 a.m. – 11:00 p.m.
Friday 8:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Saturday 10:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Sunday 1:00 p.m. – 11:00 p.m.

Call number browsing

M75–79  Bassoon or contrabassoon alone:
     M75  Collections (more than one composer)
     M76  Original works: Collections (one composer)
     M77  Original works: Separate
     M78  Arrangements: Collections (one composer)
     M79  Arrangements: Separate works
 M253–254  Bassoon or contrabassoon with piano accompaniment:
     M253  Collections
     M254  Separate works
 M288–M289  Duets for two wind instruments (of all kinds):
     M288  Collections
     M289  Separate works
 M290–M291  Duets—one stringed and one wind instrument
 M296–M297  Duets—one wind and one plucked instrument
 M315–M319  Piano and two wind instruments
 M320–M324  Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument
 M335–M339  Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument
 M355–M359  Three wind instruments
 M360–M364  Three stringed and wind instruments
M375–M379  Three wind and plucked instruments

 

Concertos and Similar Pieces

 M1026  Bassoon with orchestra, full scores
 M1026.5  Cadenzas for such works
 M1027  Bassoon with orchestra, piano reductions
 M1126  Bassoon with string orchestra, full scores
 M1126.5  Cadenzas for such works
 M1127  Bassoon with string orchestra, piano reductions

 

Studies and methods

 MT400  General works
 MT402  Systems and methods
 MT403  Teaching pieces
 MT404  Instructive editions
 MT405  Studies and exercises
 MT406  Orchestral excerpts and studies
 MT407  Two bassoons
 MT408  Self-instructors
 MT 412  Contrabassoon
 MT 415  Sarrusophone

 

Books about the Bassoon

ML128 .B26  Bassoon bibliographies
 ML950  General works
 ML951  Construction
 ML953  Music and playing

 

Eastman Bassoon Resources

Harvard Dictionary of Music entry

Ask a librarian

Rick McRae's picture
Rick McRae
Contact:
Sibley Music Library
27 Gibbs St.
(585) 274-1370

Ask Another Librarian

Jim Farrington's picture
Jim Farrington
Contact:
27 Gibbs St.
Rochester, NY 14618
585-274-1304
Website