Lexikon der Holzblasinstrumente: Oboe, Klarinette, Saxophon und Fagott by 
The techniques of bassoon playing by 
Basson: Méthodes, Traités d'Instrumentation, Dictionnaires, Cours de Composition, périodiques.
v. 1. Nouvelle méthode pour de basson / Ozy ; Cours de composition musicale / Reicha ; Dictionnaire de musique moderne / Castil-Blaze ; Revue musicale / Fétis ; Principes élémentaire / Kuffner
v. 2. Méthode complète de basson / Berr ; Manuel complet de musique / Choron ; Nouveau manuel de musique / Choron & Lafage ; Traité général d'instrumentation / Kastner ; Manuel des compositeurs / Fétis ; Cours d'instrumentation / Kastner ; Supplément au cours d'instrumentation / Kastner ; Supplément au traité d'instrumentation / Kastner ; Nouvelle méthode facile et progressive / Blumer
v. 3. Méthode de basson / Ozy ; Grand traité d'instrumentation / Berlioz ; Méthode complète pour le basson / Willent & Bordogni ; Méthode de basson / Cornette ; Méthode polyphonique / Dupart ; Petite méthode de basson / Héral & Ozy
v. 4. Méthode théorique et pratique / Jancourt.
Bassoon by
This book gives detailed and authoritative guidance on the mastery of this rewarding instrument. It is a practical manual offering beginner and expert alike a thorough and systematic treatment of every aspect of performance. There are many parts of the body employed in playing the bassoon - abdomen, mouth, tongue, fingers, and not least brain - and are described in turn and their proper use discussed both from a theoretical and practical perspective. Each section is followed by highly original practice routines. There is also advice on maintenance, how to practise, how to teach, and how to cope with the challenges of audition and competition. There are hints given on the performance of concertos by Mozart and Weber, a list of recommended solo repertoire and an extensive bibliography.
The Bassoon by
This welcome volume encompasses the entire history of the bassoon, from its origins five centuries ago to its place in twenty-first-century music. James Kopp draws on new archival research and many years' experience playing the instrument to provide an up-to-date and lively portrait of today's bassoon and its intriguing predecessors. He discusses the bassoon's makers, its players, its repertory, its myths, and its audiences, all in unprecedented detail. The bassoon was invented in Italy in response to the need for a bass-register double-reed woodwind suitable for processionals and marching. Composers were quick to exploit its agility and unique timbre. Later, during the reign of Louis XIV, the instrument underwent a major redesign, giving voice to its tenor register. In the early 1800s new scientific precepts propelled a wave of invention and design modifications. In the twentieth century, the multiplicity of competing bassoon designs narrowed to a German (or Heckel) type and a French type, the latter now nearly extinct. The author examines the acoustical consequences of these various redesigns. He also offers new coverage of the bassoon's social history, including its roles in the military and church and its global use during the European Colonial period. Separate historical chapters devoted to contrabassoons and smaller bassoons complete the volume.
Music for Unaccompanied Solo Bassoon: An Annotated Bibliography by 
An Index of Excerpts and an Overview of Published Orchestral Bassoon Excerpt Collections with a Comparison of Three Collections by
The study of orchestral excerpts is essential for those who aspire to orchestral or teaching positions. This book contains a database of published orchestral excerpt collections for bassoon both in and out of print. The overview provides general information on the compilers or editors, the contents, and other information pertinent to a specific collection. The comparison among three collections (Gumbert, Stadio, Kolbinger and Rindersapcher) illustrates how excerpt collection for bassoon evolved over a one-hundred year publication period. The compilation fills a void in bassoon pedagogy.
The Paris Conservatoire and the Contest Solos for Bassoon by 
Bibliography and discography on Music for Solo Wind Instruments and Orchestra by 
