Skip to main content

Cello: Home

Cello

This guide is designed to help you find information about, and music for, the cello. Use this as a starting point, or browsing tool. As always, consult our catalog for complete holdings information, and when uncertain, ask at the Reference Desk!

Cello

Eakins: The Cello Player (1896)

New Grove article

Recommend a Purchase

You can recommend purchases of cello-related scores, audio/video recordings, or books. Please notify Music Librarian Dan Zager with recommended titles.

Sibley Music Library

Location:

Miller Center, 27 Gibbs St. (across the street from Eastman School of Music) 2nd – 4th floors


Phone (Library Office): 585-274-1350
Phone (Reference): 585-274-1320
Phone (Special Collections): 585-274-1335
Phone (Circulation Desk): 585-274-1300
Fax: 585-274-1380
Web: https://www.esm.rochester.edu/sibley/

Hours During School Terms

Monday – Thursday 8:00 a.m. – 11:00 p.m.
Friday 8:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Saturday 10:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Sunday 1:00 p.m. – 11:00 p.m.

Call number browsing

M50–M54  Violoncello alone:
     M50      Collections (more than one composer)
     M51      Original works: Collections (one composer)
     M52      Original works: Separate
     M53      Arrangements: Collections (one composer)
     M54      Arrangements: Separate works
 M229–M236  Violoncello with piano accompaniment:
     M229      Collections (more than one composer)
     M230      Original works: Collections (one composer)
     M231      Original works: Sonatas
     M232      Separate works: Suites and variations
     M233      Separate works: Pieces
     M235      Arrangements: Collections (one composer)
     M236      Arrangements: Separate works
 M286–M287  Duets for two string instruments (of all kinds):
     M286      Collections
     M287     Separate works
 M290–M291  Duets—one stringed and one wind instrument
 M294–M295  Duets—one stringed and one plucked instrument
 M310–M314  Piano and two stringed instruments
 M320–M324  Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument
 M330–M334  Piano, one stringed, and one plucked instrument
 M349–M353  Three stringed instruments
 M360–M364  Three stringed and wind instruments
 M370–M374  Three stringed and plucked instruments
 M450  Quartets—Collections (more than one composer and medium)
 M451  Quartets—Collections (more than one composer)
 M452  Quartets—two violins, viola, violoncello
 M452.2  Quartets—four violins
 M452.4  Quartets—other combinations of stringed instruments

 

Concertos and similar pieces

 M1016  Violoncello with orchestra, full scores
 M1016.5  Cadenzas for such works
 M1017  Violoncello with orchestra, piano reductions
 M1116  Violoncello with string orchestra, full scores
 M1116.5  Cadenzas for such works
 M1117  Violoncello with string orchestra, piano reductions

 

Studies and methods

 MT300  General works
 MT302  Systems and methods
 MT305  Studies and exercises: General works
 MT306  Orchestral studies (excerpts)
 MT307  Bowing
 MT308  Positions
 MT309  Chords
 MT310  Other techniques
 MT312  Two violoncellos
 MT314  Teaching pieces
 MT315  Instructive editions: Two or more composers
 MT317  Instructive editions: One composer
 MT318  Self-instructors

 

Classification Numbers for Books about the Violoncello

 ML128 .V5  Violoncello bibliographies
 ML910  General works
 ML911  Construction
 ML915  Music and playing

Eastman Cello Resources

Harvard Dictionary of Music entry

Ask a librarian

Rick McRae's picture
Rick McRae
Contact:
Sibley Music Library
27 Gibbs St.
(585) 274-1370

Ask Another Librarian

Jim Farrington's picture
Jim Farrington
Contact:
27 Gibbs St.
Rochester, NY 14618
585-274-1304
Website