Skip to main content

Double Bass: Home

Double bass

This guide is designed to help you find information about, and music for, the double bass. Use this as a starting point, or browsing tool. As always, consult our catalog for complete holdings information, and when uncertain, ask at the Reference Desk!

Double Bass

Valadon, Woman with a Double Bass (1908)

New Grove article

Recommend a Purchase

You can recommend purchases of double bass-related scores, audio/video recordings, or books. Please notify Music Librarian Dan Zager with recommended titles.

Sibley Music Library

Location:

Miller Center, 27 Gibbs St. (across the street from Eastman School of Music) 2nd – 4th floors


Phone (Library Office): 585-274-1350
Phone (Reference): 585-274-1320
Phone (Special Collections): 585-274-1335
Phone (Circulation Desk): 585-274-1300
Fax: 585-274-1380
Web: https://www.esm.rochester.edu/sibley/

Hours During School Terms

Monday – Thursday 8:00 a.m. – 11:00 p.m.
Friday 8:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Saturday 10:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Sunday 1:00 p.m. – 11:00 p.m.

Call number browsing

 M55–M58  Double bass alone:
     M55      Collections (more than one composer)
     M56      Original works: Collections
     M57      Original works: Separate
     M58      Arrangements
 M229–M233  Double bass with piano accompaniment:
     M229      Collections (more than one composer)
     M230      Original works: Collections
     M231      Sonatas
     M232      Suites and variations
     M233      Pieces
 M286–M287  Duets for two string instruments (of all kinds):
     M286      Collections
     M287      Separate works
 M290–M291  Duets—one stringed and one wind instrument
 M294–M295  Duets—one stringed and one plucked instrument
 M310–M314  Piano and two stringed instruments
 M320–M324  Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument
 M330–M334  Piano, one stringed, and one plucked instrument
 M349–M353  Three stringed instruments
 M360–M364  Three stringed and wind instruments
 M370–M374  Three stringed and plucked instruments

 

Concertos and similar pieces

 M1018  Double bass with orchestra: full scores, piano reductions, and cadenzas
 M1118  Double bass with string orchestra: full scores, piano reductions, and cadenzas

 

Studies and methods

 MT320
General works
 MT322
Systems and methods
 MT330 Studies and exercises: General works
 MT331 
Orchestral studies
 MT333
Teaching pieces
 MT333.4
Instructive editions
 MT334 Self-instructors 

 

Classification Numbers for Books about the Double Bass

 ML128 .D6  Double-bass bibliographies
 ML920  General works
 ML921  Construction
 ML925  Music and playing

Eastman Double Bass Resources

Harvard Dictionary of Music entry

Ask a librarian

Rick McRae's picture
Rick McRae
Contact:
Sibley Music Library
27 Gibbs St.
(585) 274-1370

Ask Another Librarian

Jim Farrington's picture
Jim Farrington
Contact:
27 Gibbs St.
Rochester, NY 14618
585-274-1304
Website