Skip to main content

Harp: Home

Harp

This guide is designed to help you find information about, and music for, the harp. Use this as a starting point, or browsing tool. As always, consult our catalog for complete holdings information, and when uncertain, ask at the Reference Desk!

Harp

Stevens: La Femme à la Harpe 

New Grove article

Recommend a Purchase

You can recommend purchases of harp-related scores, audio/video recordings, or books. Please notify Music Librarian Dan Zager with recommended titles.

Sibley Music Library

Location:

Miller Center, 27 Gibbs St. (across the street from Eastman School of Music) 2nd – 4th floors


Phone (Library Office): 585-274-1350
Phone (Reference): 585-274-1320
Phone (Special Collections): 585-274-1335
Phone (Circulation Desk): 585-274-1300
Fax: 585-274-1380
Web: https://www.esm.rochester.edu/sibley/

Hours During School Terms

Monday – Thursday 8:00 a.m. – 11:00 p.m.
Friday 8:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Saturday 10:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Sunday 1:00 p.m. – 11:00 p.m.

Call number browsing

M115–M119  Harp alone:
     M115      Collections (more than one composer)
     M116      Original works: Collections (one composer)
     M117      Original works: Separate
     M118      Arrangements: Collections (one composer)
     M119      Arrangements: Separate works
 M272–M273  Harp with piano accompaniment:
     M272      Collections
     M273      Separate works
 M292–M293  Duets for two plucked instruments (of all kinds):
     M292      Collections
     M293      Separate works
 M294–M295  Duets—one stringed and one plucked instrument
 M296–M297  Duets—one wind and one plucked instrument
 M325–M329  Piano and two plucked instruments
 M330–M334  Piano, one string, and one plucked instrument
 M335–M339  Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument
 M365–M369  Three plucked instruments
 M370–M374  Three stringed and plucked instruments
 M375–M379  Three wind and plucked instruments
 M380–M384  Three stringed, wind, and plucked instruments

 

Concertos and similar pieces

 M1036-M1037  Harp with orchestra: full scores, piano reductions, and cadenzas
 M1136-M1137  Harp with string orchestra: full scores, piano reductions, and cadenzas

 

Studies and methods

 MT540  General works
 MT542  Systems and methods
 MT543  Teaching pieces
 MT544  Instructive editions
 MT546  Orchestral studies (excerpts)
 MT547  Two guitars
 MT548  Self-instructors
 MT552–MT557  Other instruments of the guitar family

 

Classification Numbers for Books about the Harp

 ML128 .H3             Harp bibliographies
 ML1005   

            General works

ML1006    Construction and repair
ML1007    Music and playing
   
    
     


 

Eastman Double Bass Resources

Harvard Dictionary of Music entry

Ask a librarian

Rick McRae's picture
Rick McRae
Contact:
Sibley Music Library
27 Gibbs St.
(585) 274-1370

Ask Another Librarian

Jim Farrington's picture
Jim Farrington
Contact:
27 Gibbs St.
Rochester, NY 14618
585-274-1304
Website