Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
From Studio to Stage: Repertoire for the Voice by The repertoire files of the late Dr. Barbara Doscher, in which she noted her tips, observations on each particular piece, and notes on how to best teach it, comprise a unique trove of wisdom unmatched by any other source. Laboriously transcribed and annotated by John Nix, one of Doscher's students, the notes are presented here as a companion volume to her best-selling text, The Functional Unity of the Singing Voice. Entries are divided by broad category (art song, arias, folk songs, oratorio, musicals, etc.) and are arranged by song title. Each entry includes author, poet or librettist, key(s) available, ranges (for each key), tessitura, difficulty level, voice types, comments, a summary of the text, and notes as to genre, language, and editions available. Five comprehensive indexes facilitate searching. As a guide to selecting vocal repertoire, this book's practical and sometimes colorful comments on each song or aria will assist the vocal instructor in matching the student's ability and range to the appropriate piece. This distillation of Barbara Doscher's many years of experience in the teaching studio is a necessary addition to any vocal instructor's collection, as well as a valuable resource for the individual singer.
Call Number: Ref. ML128.V7 D717 2002
Publication Date: 2002
Music for the Voice: A Descriptive List of Concert and Teaching Material, Revised Edition by Sergius Kagen's encyclopedic guide to music for the voice has been a standard reference work for singers and teachers for nearly 30 years. For each of several thousand works, the singer can find the compass and tessitura, the vocal type to which the song is suited, as well as remarks on the character or challenges of the piece, with occasional advice to the accompanist. Headnotes give general information on some major composers and important song cycles. This single volume helps the performer find works by hundreds of composers from Europe and America, from the Renaissance through the mid-20th century, and genres ranging from folk airs to bel canto. Entries are arranged by composer within larger categories: Songs and Airs before the 19th Century, Songs of the Nineteenth and Twentieth Centuries, Folk Songs, and Operatic Extracts. An index of composers makes access to listings even easier.
Call Number: Ref. ML128.V87 K11 1968
Publication Date: 1969
Guide to the Aria Repertoire by An invaluable guide to some of the most demanding aria excerpts
Call Number: Ref. ML128.O4 C594 2007
Publication Date: 2007
Encyclopedia of French Art Song: Fauré, Debussy, Ravel, Poulenc by The Encyclopedia of French Art Song: Fauré, Debussy, Ravel, Poulenc is ideal for student and professional singers, pianists, voice teachers, and anyone interested in French art song and culture. This multi-disciplinary work is a unique single source, fusing encyclopedic entries on songs, poems, poets, historical and cultural figures and movements with a dictionary of pertinent nouns and adjectives. It provides both facts and context in an authoritative yet engaging style. The book is cross-referenced for greater ease in finding information relevant to each song discussed.
Call Number: Ref. ML102.S6 D275 2013
Publication Date: 2013
American Vocal Chamber Music, 1945-1980: An Annotated Bibliography by A list of 554 works for accompanied solo voice or voices, both conventional and avant-garde with the latter particularly conspicuous. The useful annotations address general listeners and performers; two useful appendixes provide access for different instrumentalists and ensemble combinations. These sections are followed by a title index (to the larger works, but not to the component parts) and a general index to topics and names. Although the proofreading leaves much to be desired, the valuable introduction reveals the hand of a compiler well in tune with the repertory itself. Recommended for academic collections that serve adventuresome vocal performers.
Call Number: Ref. ML128.V87 L972 1985
Publication Date: 1985
Art Song in the United States, 1759-2011: An Annotated Bibliography, 4th ed. by This fourth edition of Art Song in the United States, 1759-2011 covers songs for solo voice and piano by American composers from the mid-18th through the early 21st centuries. The book is structured as an annotated bibliography with approximately 2,850 numbered entries listed alphabetically by composer and title and indexed in various ways to help teachers and singers locate the particular song they require for practice or performance. This edition adds eleven years' worth of new works, anthologies, and collections (about 450 new entries), reflecting the relatively recent outpouring of song compositions by American composers and a wealth of new song anthologies and collections. This bibliography features information on each song or song cycle or set. Users will find critical data on the poet, publisher and copyright date, key, vocal range, vocal tessitura, meter(s), tempo, length, difficulty of vocal line and piano score, most suitable voice type, mood and subject of the text, and brief description of the vocal line and piano score. It also includes commentary on special difficulties for performers and possible uses of the song in programming. In addition, individual titles of composite works are given, and those that appear in collections are indexed to the list of collections in the front matter. Composer, poet, special characteristics/subject, and title indexes--and even discographic lists recordings where available--all aid researchers in finding songs. The primary audiences for this bibliography are voice teachers and singers in search of appropriate art songs for their students or themselves, as well as libraries with collecting interests in music and American literature.
Call Number: Ref. ML128.S3 C287 2013
Publication Date: 2012
A Singer's Guide to the American Art Song, 1870-1980 by New in Paperback 2004. Considers the lives and contributions of 144 significant composers in the field. Includes a general discography, bibliography, and indexes for both titles and poets. ...writing style is clear and enjoyable, the information she supplies about the songs pertinent and helpful...extremely useful to singers, voice teachers, coaches and musicologists in planning programs and in obtaining information about American art song repertoire.--Lori N. White, Taylor University
Call Number: Ref. ML128.S3 V71 1993
Publication Date: 1993
Recent American Art Song: A Guide by Recent American Art Song: A Guide is devoted to songs with English texts by American composers written for solo voice and piano. The book focuses exclusively on art song since 1980, a substantial period largely ignored by scholars. This is the first study to examine this repertory in detail, and many of the songs and composers are covered in print for the first time.
Call Number: Ref. ML128.S3 C639 2008
Publication Date: 2008
A Guide to the Latin American Art Song Repertoire: An Annotated Catalog of Twentieth-Century Art Songs for Voice and Piano (Also available as EBook) by A reference guide to the vast array of art song literature and composers from Latin America, this book introduces the music of Latin America from a singer's perspective and provides a basis for research into the songs of this richly musical area of the world. The book is divided by country into 22 chapters, with each chapter containing an introductory essay on the music of the region, a catalog of art songs for that country, and a list of publishers. Some chapters include information on additional sources. Singers and teachers may use descriptive annotations (language, poet) or pedagogical annotations (range, tessitura) to determine which pieces are appropriate for their voices or programming needs, or those of their students. The guide will be a valuable resource for vocalists and researchers, however familiar they may be with this glorious repertoire.
Call Number: Ref. ML128.S3 G946 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Music for Voice and Classical Guitar, 1945-1996: An Annotated Catalog by In the late 19th century, Spanish guitar maker Antonio de Torres established a standard size and form for the classical guitar; in the early 20th century, musicians developed advanced playing techniques that contemporary recitalists refined. By the late 1940s, composers had begun to compose music specifically for the classical guitar, and in the past fifty years there have been over 550 pieces composed expressly for the duo of classical guitar and solo voice.This work provides for the first time an annotated catalog of such compositions. Each entry includes the composer; title; language in which the work is to be sung; dates of composition and copyright; publisher and catalog number; author and text source; voice type required to sing the song as indicated by the score; range and tessitura; and difficulty of the piece for the singer. The annotations touch on additional matters such as whether the piece is part of a song cycle or a collection, and its duration.
Call Number: Ref. ML128.S3 M354 1997
Publication Date: 1997
The New Broadway Song Companion: An Annotated Guide to Musical Theatre Literature by Voice Type and Song Style by This is a completely revised and expanded second edition of The Broadway Song Companion, the first complete guide and access point to the vast literature of the Broadway musical for the solo performer. Designed with the working actor in mind, the volume lists every song from over 300 Broadway shows, including at least 90 more than the first edition. Organized by show, each song is annotated with the name of the character(s) who sing(s) the song, the vocal range, and a style category, such as uptempo, narrative ballad, swing ballad, moderate character piece, etc. Several indexes are supplied, organizing the songs by voice type (soprano, baritone, etc.) and song style, vocal arrangement (duets, trios, chorus, etc.), and composer and lyricist, allowing increased access to the repertoire. For instance, a soprano looking for a ballad to sing will find every song in that category in the index. All solos, duets, and trios are indexed in this manner, with quartets and larger ensembles listed by voice type. Furthermore, the instant breakdowns (how many lead characters, who sings what song, and the range requirements of each character) will be a valuable resource to directors and producers.
Call Number: Ref. ML128.M78 D489 2009
Publication Date: 2009
The Comprehensive Catalogue of Duet Literature for Female Voices: Vocal Chamber Duets with Keyboard Accompaniment Composed Between 1820-1995 by Vocal chamber duets for female voice are some of the most beautiful and pedagogically useful vocal literature. Nevertheless, they are often overlooked because of difficulty procuring them. Many vocal catalogues do not specify duet literature, and existing catalogues and appendixes addressing duet literature are limited. This catalogue contains 8,800 entries representing over 2,000 composers. It enables interested parties to access titles and composers of works with information pertaining to specified voice parts and publisher. Works are accessible by composer and by title of work. They are also searchable through opus or piece number, voices specified, and accompaniment if other than piano. The catalogue also provides comments significant to each work, cross-reference tables that specify the voice types listed, and the language of the work. Appendixes list composers and publishers, and an Index of Song Titles makes all of the works easy to locate. The Catalogue provides singers, students, teachers, coaches, and accompanists with information that will help obtain specific chamber music duet literature for female voices. Music historians may also benefit from this volume which includes many composers who have contributed to this vast genre.
Call Number: Ref. ML128.V7 N554 1999
Publication Date: 1999
Twentieth-Century Countertenor Repertoire: A Guide by In Twentieth-Century Countertenor Repertoire, Steven L. Rickards has provided a reference listing of over 600 entries, compiling and cataloging information about repertoire composed specifically for the countertenor from 1950 to 2000. Rickards collects works from 30 countries with texts in 31 languages--including early forms of Akkadian, English, Flemish, French, and Greek--representing over 350 composers. With reference numbers for easy accessibility, each entry presents significant data, including the composer's name, birth/death dates, and nationality; the title, medium, date, and duration of the composition; the instrumentation, voicing, range, and tessitura of the piece; and the author and language of the text. Rickards also provides the who, when, and where of the premier; whether the piece was commissioned or not, and, if so, by whom; and the publisher and availability of the piece. He also offers the composers' and his own observations on the work, including the difficulty and appropriateness of the work for differing levels of singers, from students to professionals. Several indexes break the material down into searchable pieces, listing compositions by title, author of text, instrumentation, medium (song cycle, chamber work, opera, cantata, etc.), and vocal arrangements (duets, trios, quartets). Addresses of music publishers and information centers are also provided. This valuable reference will help countertenors and voice teachers to identify and become more familiar with contemporary works for countertenor, as well as promote the performance of contemporary works and encourage composers to continue to write for the countertenor voice.
Call Number: Ref. ML128.V7 R539 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Songs for Bass Voice: An Annotated Guide to Works for Bass Voice by The bass singer, with his range and tessitura at the bottom end of the scale, has unique difficulties finding suitable vocal music in his range. Most music is composed for medium or high voice and finding music for the bass voice or vocal music transposed into a key low enough for the bass to sing is often frustrating for the bass singer, his teacher, coach, and accompanist. This is particularly true of the young high school or college student or any bass that has not mastered his top notes. Additionally, the low bass (basso profondo) has even more difficulty finding appropriate repertory for his range. The user of this annotated guide will find not only a wealth of vocal literature for the young or inexperienced bass, but vocal repertoire for all levels from beginner to professional. A necessary addition to the collections of professors and teachers of singing, bass and bass-baritone singers, vocal coaches, and accompanists.
Call Number: Ref. ML132.S6 O65 1994
Publication Date: 1994
Songs for Beginning Bass Voice: With Annotated Guide to Works for Beginning Bass Voice by The beginning bass singer, with his range and tessitura at the bottom end of the scale of voices, has unique difficulties finding suitable vocal music, which is often very frustrating for him and his teacher. As the young or beginning bass works and waits patiently for his voice to develop, appropriate vocal literature needs to be found which is within his present range and tessitura. To address this problem, this new book lists selected songs carefully chosen from the repertoire, with annotations. Some songs, given as an illustration or example of what is appropriate, are presented in their entirety. Each of these has its own background material complete with interesting biographical information and tips on interpretation. If the song is originally in a foreign language a suitable English version is given as well. In addition, the selected entries provide full access to suitable material; annotations include composer, title, range, tessitura, tempo, meter, difficulty, source, publisher, and pertinent comments. Also includes indexes by composer, title, and publisher.
Call Number: Ref. ML132.S6 O65 2002
Publication Date: 2001
Songs for Young Singers: An Annotated List for Developing Voices by Songs for Young Singers, a careful review of more than 2,000 songs printed in over 70 anthologies, has been written to address the needs of choir directors and voice teachers of junior high and high school age students. Section I lists songs by title as well as the anthologies in which they are found. Teachers wishing to explore the works of a particular composer will turn to section II, where songs are listed by composer.
Call Number: Ref. ML132.S6 H793 2002
Publication Date: 2001
Bibliography of Twentieth- and Twenty-First Century Works for Voice, Horn, and Piano by This book provides a current listing of chamber works written during the twentieth and twenty-first centuries for voice, horn and piano. It will be a resource for those musicians searching for such works to serve both performance and research-related purposes. Selected annotations provide background information about the works, as well as valuable performance-related information, such as timings, range, and difficulty levels.
Call Number: Ref. ML128.S3 U43 2007
Publication Date: 2006
Catalogue of Vocal Solos and Duets Arranged in Biblical Order by The second edition of A Catalogue of Vocal Solos and Duets Arranged in Biblical Order serves as a companion volume to A Catalogue of Choral Music Arranged in Biblical Order (Second edition, 1996, and supplement, 2001, both published by Scarecrow Press). It is a necessary tool for the church musician to coordinate music with the scripture readings and/or the sermon topic and a valuable aid to the vocal soloist seeking a work using a particular biblical text. The work serves as a working document for the church musician, soloist, or voice teacher. Titles are arranged in the same order as found in the Bible. Each entry contains title, composer, voice range/type, and publisher information. Two indexes are also included: a title index and a composer index.
Call Number: Ref. ML128.S3 L349 2003
Publication Date: 2003
German Poetry in Song: An Index of Lieder by This practical book inventories some 9,800 settings of German poetry, primarily for one voice and piano. Under the first line of each poet's work is a list of the composers who have set the poem to music, giving the composer's title for the song, date of composition or publication when available, opus number, and other significant data. Indexes by composer, first line, and title are also included.
Call Number: Ref. ML128.S3 S675 1995
Publication Date: 1995
The Song Index of the Enoch Pratt Free Library by The Pratt Library (Baltimore) possesses one of the largest collections of song anthologies in the US, and since the beginning of this century their librarians have diligently indexed these anthologies. The present compilation is an outgrowth of this long-term project. The first volume contains a bibliography of 2,120 collections, as well as the song index proper. The second contains indexes of composers and larger works from which songs were drawn. Regrettably, the indexing is haphazard. Citations that identify both titles and first lines, which characterize Minnie Earl Sears's Song Index (1926; supplement, 1934), Desiree DeCharms and Paul Breed's Songs in Collections(1966), Patricia Pate Havlice's Popular Song Index(CH, Mar'76; supplements, 1978, 1984, 1989), and William D. Goodfellow's SongCite (CH, Mar'96; supplement, 1998), are not to be found. It is frustrating to find 16 entries for "Alma Mater" with no indication of school. Carelessness is also evident in the composer index; for instance, it is disconcerting to note that songs by Frederick and Carl Loewe are mixed. Yet this index has value as a reference source, since it analyzes collections of school songbooks, hymnals, and folksong anthologies, which are underrepresented in most standard song indexes. It can be used most profitably in large urban public libraries with a diverse clientele.
Call Number: ML128.S3 L936 1998
Publication Date: 1998
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Dictionary for the Modern Singer (Also available as eBook) by Titles in the Dictionaries for the Modern Musician series offer both the novice and the advanced artist key information designed to convey the field of study and performance for a major instrument or instrument class, as well as the workings of musicians in areas from conducting to composing. Each dictionary covers topics from instrument parts to technique, major works to key figures--a must-have for any musician's personal library A Dictionary for the Modern Singer is an indispensable guide for students of singing, voice pedagogues, and lovers of the art of singing. In addition to classical singing, genres, and styles, musical theatre and popular and global styles are addressed. With an emphasis on contemporary practice, this work includes terms and figures that influenced modern singing styles. Topics include voice pedagogy, voice science, vocal health, styles, genres, performers, diction, and other relevant topics. The dictionary will help students to more fully understand the concepts articulated by their teachers. Matthew Hoch's book fills a gap in the singer's library as the only one-volume general reference geared toward today's student of singing. An extensive bibliography is invaluable for students seeking to explore a particular subject in greater depth. Illustrations and charts further illuminate particular concepts, while appendixes address stage fright, tips on practicing, repertoire selection, audio technology, and contemporary commercial music styles. A Dictionary for the Modern Singer will appeal to students of singing at all levels. For professionals, it will serve as a quick and handy reference guide, useful in the high school or college library and the home teaching studio alike; students and amateurs will find it accessible and full of fascinating information about the world of the singing.
Call Number: ML102.V6 H685 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Researching the Song: A Lexicon by Singers are faced with a unique challenge among musicians: they must express not just the music, but the lyrics too. To effectively communicate the meaning behind these words, singers must understand the many references embedded in the vast international repertoire of great art songs. Theymust deal with the meaning of the lyrics, frequently in a language not their own and of a culture unfamiliar to them.From Zelter and Schubert to Rorem and Musto, Researching the Song serves as an invaluable guide for performers, teachers, and enthusiasts to the art song repertoire. Its more than 2,000 carefully researched entries supply information on most of the mythological, historical, geographical, andliterary references contained in western art song. The authors explain the meaning of less familiar literary terms, figures, and authors referenced in song while placing songs in the context of larger literary sources. Readers will find entries dealing with art songs from the German, French,Italian, Russian, Spanish, South American, Greek, Finnish, Scandinavian, and both American and British English repertoires. Sources, narratives, and explanations of major song cycles are also given. Organized alphabetically, the lexicon includes brief biographies of poets, lists of composers who seteach poet's work, bibliographic materials, and brief synopses of major works from which song texts were taken, including the plots of all Restoration theater works containing Purcell's vocal music.The more performers know and understand the literary elements of a song, the richer their communication will be. Researching the Song is a vital aid for singers and teachers in interpreting art songs and building song recital programs.
Call Number: Ref. ML102.S6 E54 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Song: A Guide to Art Song Style and Literature by (Book). Carol Kimball's comprehensive survey of art song literature has been the principal one-volume American source on the topic. Now back in print after an absence of several years, this newly revised edition includes biographies and discussions of the work of 150 composers of various nationalities, as well as articles on styles of various schools of composition.
Call Number: Ref. MT120.K49 S69 2005
Publication Date: 2006
Lexikon der Gesangsstimme: Geschichte, wissenschaftliche Grundlagen, Gesangstechniken, Interpreten by Dieses umfassende Nachschlagewerk informiert mit enzyklopädischem Anspruch über das älteste Musikinstrument der Menschheitsgeschichte: die menschliche Stimme. Indem sich das 'Lexikon der Gesangsstimme' diesem Phänomen aus einem völlig neuen Blickwinkel nähert und gleichzeitig alle Erscheinungsformen des Singens thematisiert, schließt es endlich eine lange bestehende Lücke in der Musikliteratur. Physiologische Gesichtspunkte, wie Anatomie der (Gesangs-)Stimme und Stimmbildung, werden dabei ebenso ausführlich behandelt wie die unterschiedlichen Stimmtypen und Gesangstechniken. 'Singen ist eine edle Kunst und Übung' stellte bereits Martin Luther in seinen 'Tischreden' fest. Fragen der Gesangspädagogik und der Vortragslehre des Gesangs wird dementsprechend ein ebenso großer Stellenwert beigemessen wie dem Bereich der Kirchenmusik und den unterschiedlichen Entwicklungen des Chorwesens. 0Einen durchgehenden Schwerpunkt dieses umfassenden Buches bildet die breit angelegte Geschichte des abendländischen Kunstgesangs. Sänger, Pädagogen und andere Persönlichkeiten aus der Historie und der Gegenwart, die für die Gesangslehre und -interpretation von Bedeutung sind, werden in differenzierten Einzeldarstellungen gewürdigt. Nicht zu vernachlässigen ist auch der Teil, der sich mit dem Gesang in der Pop- und Volkskultur beschäftigt. Gerade der Bereich der kommerziellen Unterhaltungsmusik, der unglaublich schnelllebig ist, gleichzeitig aber immer wieder neue Inspiration aus der Tradition gewinnt, unterstreicht die Vielfalt dieser spannenden Thematik
Call Number: Ref. ML102.V6 L679 2018
Publication Date: 2018
Art Song Composers of Spain: An Encyclopedia by Art Song Composers of Spain: An Encyclopedia describes the wealth of vocal repertoire composed by 19th- and 20th-century Spanish song composers. More than 90 composers are discussed in detail with complete biographies, descriptions, and examples of the song literature, as well as comprehensive listings of stage works, books, recordings, compositions in non-vocal genres, and vocal repertoire. Opening with a thorough history of Spain and its political scene, author Suzanne Rhodes Draayer examines its relation to song composition and the impact on composers such as Fernando Sor, Sebastián de Iradier, Federico García Lorca, Manuel de Falla, and many others. Draayer discusses Spanish art song and its various types, its folksong influences, and the major and minor composers of each period. Beginning with Manuel García (b. 1775) and ending with Carmen Santiago de Meras (b. 1917), Draayer provides biographies of the composers, a discussion and analysis of songs available in print in the US, and a complete list of solo songs for each. Musical examples are given for 175 songs, demonstrating a variety of compositional techniques and lyrical text settings, and illustrating characteristics of orientalism (Moorish) and cante jondo (gypsy) elements, as well as influences such as the German lied and French mélodie. The final chapter lists contemporary composers and considers the difficulties in researching music by women composers. Complete with a foreword by Nico Castel, a bibliography, and additional indexes, Art Song Composers of Spain proves the importance of the Spanish song as an essential part of vocal training and concert repertoire.
Call Number: Ref. ML106.S7 D756 2009
Publication Date: 2009
The Cambridge Verdi Encyclopedia by Verdi's enduring presence on the opera stages of the world and as a subject for study by scholars in various disciplines has placed him as a central figure within modern culture. His operas, including La traviata, Rigoletto and Aida, are among the most frequently performed worldwide and his popularity from the mid-nineteenth century to the present day is undisputed. The Cambridge Verdi Encyclopedia covers all aspects of Verdi's life, his music and his world. Appendices list Verdi's known works, both published and unpublished, the characters in his operas and the singers who created them, and a chronology of his life. As a starting point for information on specific works, people, places and concepts associated with Verdi, the Encyclopedia reflects the very latest scholarship, presented by an international array of experts and will have a broad appeal for opera lovers, students and scholars.
Call Number: Ref. ML102.O6 C178 2013
Publication Date: 2014
Bibliographic and Discographic Sources
Lied-Bibliographie Song Bibliography: Reference to Literature on the Art Song by This bibliography offers a comprehensive survey of publications on the theme art song, compiled from books, periodicals, yearbooks, commemorative publications, conference reports, and dissertations. The bibliography is divided into three sections: composers, poets, and general key words. Indexes of authors and poets complete the work.
Call Number: Ref. ML128.S3 W234 2005
Publication Date: 2005
The Art Song: A Research and Information Guide by Seaton's guide represents the first attempt to provide an annotated bibliography of literature concerning art songs written between 17th century and the present. The bibliography was compiled with both musicologist and performer in mind. Included are historical surveys, books, articles, and dissertations that treat individual composers and poets, aesthetics and analytical principles, manuscript and printed sources, guides to song interpretation and performance practice, and lists of songs and collections. Since the scope of the art song is broad, Seaton excludes encyclopedia articles, composer biographies, and articles from pedagogical periodicals. Studies concerning the German lied account for nearly 60% of the bibliographic entries, but one should not regard this as evidence of bias on Seaton's part; an examination of the literature on art song reveals the unfortunate fact that art songs of other countries have received inadequate attention from researchers. Seaton has provided an excellent compilation; his bibliography will be used as a major research tool by both musicologists and performers. Academic libraries, all levels.
Call Number: Ref. ML128.S3 S441 1987
Publication Date: 1987
Library Resources for Singers, Coaches, and Accompanists: An Annotated Bibliography, 1970-1997 by Designed to aid the student, librarian, teacher, or professional singer, this annotated bibliography provides access to more than 500 books, journals, and electronic resources. Included as well are chapters listing dictionaries and encyclopedias for opera and musical theater, biographical sources, guides to vocal literature and repertoire, and resources for vocal pedagogy and for the stage. Equally helpful are sources that list plots and synopses, translations, diction, travel and education. Providing ready access to a variety of topics and resources necessary for vocal study, this important reference will introduce music students to reliable, essential sources for their study, assist teachers and coaches in finding reference tools, and assist reference librarians in locating sources for patrons. The alphabetical organization within subject makes this reference easy to understand and easy to access. Three indexes allow for convenient cross-referencing.
Call Number: Ref. ML128.V7 M45 1998
Publication Date: 1998
Opera: A Research and Information Guide by Opera is the only guide to the research writings on all aspects of opera. This second edition presents 2,833 titles--over 2,000 more than the first edition--of books, parts of books, articles and dissertations with full bibliographic descriptions and critical annotations. Users will find the core literature on the operas of 320 individual composers and details of operatic life in 43 countries. All relevant works through to November 1999 have been considered, covering more than fifteen years of literature since the first edition was published.
Call Number: Ref. ML128.O4 M321 2001
Publication Date: 2001
Song on Record by This first volume of Song on Record, devoted to Lieder, provides a critical guide to performance on record from the early days of the gramophone to the present day. Alan Blyth, with a team of distinguished writers and critics, has covered comprehensively the main strands of each composer's output in the field, from Haydn and Mozart to Schoenberg and Berg, together with illuminating and entertaining discussion of the differing interpretations found on the selected recordings. The book is thus as much a history of the Lied and its interpretation as a guide to available recordings and will be of interest to musicologists and performers as well as to music lovers and record collectors.
Call Number: Ref. ML156.4.V7 S69 1987
Publication Date: 1986
Singing in Czech: A Guide to Czech Lyric Diction and Vocal Repertoire by Parish Boundaries chronicles the history of Catholic parishes in major cities such as Boston, Chicago, Detroit, New York, and Philadelphia, melding their unique place in the urban landscape to the course of twentieth century American race relations. In vivid portraits of parish life, John McGreevy examines the contacts and conflicts between Euro-American Catholics and their African-American neighbors. By tracing the transformation of a church, its people, and the nation, McGreevy illuminates the enormous impact of religious culture on modern American society. "Parish Boundaries can take its place in the front ranks of the literature of urban race relations."—Jonathan Dorfman, Washington Post Book Review "A prodigiously researched, gracefully written book distinguished especially by its seamless treatment of social and intellectual history."—Robert Orsi, American Historical Review "Parish Boundaries will fascinate historians and anyone interested in the historic connection between parish and race."—Ed Marciniak, Chicago Tribune "The history that remains to be written will rest on the firm foundation of Mr. McGreevy's remarkable book."—Richard Wightman Fox, New York Times Book Review
Call Number: Media 308
Publication Date: 2001
Singing in Greek: A Guide to Greek Lyric Diction and Vocal Repertoire by In Singing in Greek: A Guide to Greek Lyric Diction and Vocal Repertoire, Lydia Zervanos reveals to singers the vast riches of Greek vocal music. Dating back to 1770, Greek art music following the Western European styles, often drawing on themes from folk music and motifs long awaits its rightful place in a truly international vocal repertoire. Modern singers in search of new musical opportunities will find in Singing in Greek the necessary tools to locate and perform art songs and arias from this extensive national vocal repertoire. Concisely written and full of practical advice, the book opens with an introduction to the Greek alphabet and pronunciation, navigating the assignment of International Phonetic Alphabet symbols. Zervanos covers such topics as Greek vowels, digraphs, consonants, binary consonants, consonant combinations, palatalization, basic Greek grammatical concepts and their role in stress and length, syllabification, and punctuation all separated into easily referenced chapters and supported by online recordings of native Greek opera singers. In the second half of Singing in Greek, Zervanos offers a short history of Greek art music, biographies of prominent Greek composers, texts of their most representative works with IPA transcriptions, and word-for-word and poetic translations, with arias and art songs chosen for all voice types and levels. This book also includes indexes of direct vowel-to-IPA and consonant-to-IPA transcriptions, as well as useful appendixes on publications, organizations, and famous Greek poets. Singing in Greek is a must-have resource for every singer, voice teacher, vocal coach, collaborative pianist, and opera and choral conductor seeking to perform and teach in this unique language, explore the wealth of music available, and expand their knowledge of Greek repertoire."
Call Number: Ref. MT833.Z58 S617 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Phonetic Readings of Songs and Arias, 2nd ed. by Since the publication of the first edition in 1964, Phonetic Readings of Songs and Arias has served singers, teachers of singing, and students of lyric diction as a guide to the correct pronunciation of songs in foreign languages.
Call Number: Ref. MT883 .P57 1982
Publication Date: 1994
A French Song Companion by The French Song Companion is the most comprehensive book of French melodie in any language. The great accompagnist Graham Johnson, a noted authority of song, provides repertoire guides to the work of some 150 composers the majority of them from France, but including British, American,German, Spanish, and Italian musicians who have written French vocal music. There are major articles on such figures as Faure, Duparc, Debussy, Ravel, and Poulenc; substantial articles on Bizet, Chabrier, Gounod, Chausson, Hahn, and Satie; and reassessments of such composers as Massenet, Koechlin,and Leguerney. A host of less celebrated figures who have contributed to the genre take their place in a book which is both informative and entertaining.The biographical articles are supplemented by the song translations of Richard Stokes, some 700 in all, and a veritable treasury of great French poetry from the fifteenth to the twentieth centuries. These stand in their own right as indispensable to music lovers, concert-goers, and professionalsingers and their accompanists. This is a book which not only reflects the repertoire as found in today's concert halls, but also encourages performers and armchair enthusiasts to explore the neglected highways and biways of an endlessly fascinating and highly civilised body of music.
Call Number: Ref. ML54.6.J67 F87 2000
Publication Date: 2000