LibGuides: Music By People Of the African Diaspora: Finding articles

Finding articles

Black Studies Center: Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more. It combines essential resources for research and teaching in Black Studies, including The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper from 1912-1975. Add-on modules include The HistoryMakers® oral history video resource with extensive interviews with 100 contemporary African Americans, eight additional historical black newspapers, Black Abolitionist Papers, and Black Studies Dissertations.

Oxford African American Studies Center: The Oxford African American Studies Center provides students, scholars and librarians with more than 20,000 articles by top scholars in the field. Over 2,500 images, more than 700 primary sources with specially written commentaries, and nearly 200 maps have been collected to enhance this reference content. Music-related materials can be more directly accessed under the "Arts and Leisure" sub-category.

RILM
Produced by Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale, Inc. (RILM), RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text (RAFT) enhances the bibliography of writings on music provided by RILM Abstracts with the addition of approximately one million pages of full-text content from more than 200 periodicals from 50 countries in 40 languages, published from the early 20th century to the present (many of which are not found in our other full-text offerings). Most coverage commences with the first issue of the journal and includes cover-to-cover full text for every included title. Therefore, in addition to scholarly articles and reviews, the database includes obituaries, editorials, correspondence, advertisements, news items, and more. Coverage of Conference Proceedings goes back to 1835.
Music Index
The Music Index: A Subject-Author Guide to Music Periodical Literature is compiled from over 655 international music periodicals offering the researcher access to a wealth of historiographic, ethnographic, and musicological data. A broad range of subjects is covered, including past and present personalities, the history of music, forms and types of music, musical instruments from the earliest times to modern electronic instruments, plus computer produced music. In addition, book reviews, reviews of music recordings, tapes, and performances are indexed. First performances and obituaries are noted.
RIPM Jazz
The initial installment of RIPM Jazz Periodicals contains periodicals published exclusively in the United States of America. At a later date it is planned to include a number of important jazz journals published in other countries. Our definition of “periodical publications” includes those that intended to appear regularly but produced only a single issue, and extends to annual encyclopedias of jazz. its attention to historical journals, RIPM focuses its jazz collection on supplying access to publications that ceased to appear in the twentieth century. If a journal continues to be published in the twenty-first century, our terminal point remains the twentieth, with four exceptions.s.The first release of RIPM Jazz Periodicals contains 105 jazz journals, covering the period from 1914 to 2006.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a cooperative venture among 1400 international libraries and publishers to provide full-text access to older scholarly journals. The most recent year of a particular journal is not covered, but those journals that are included have full text accessibility back to their respective origins. At the moment, no music-specific journals are included, but that will be changing in the future. Users will find an astonishing number of scholarly articles about musical topics that have been published in the hundreds of non-music journals and books indexed. Further, there are 77 music-specific journals for which coverage is provided, as well as 20 in African American studies, 64 in African studies, and 56 in Latin American studies.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
This database is the world’s most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. Note that not all institutions submit DMA dissertations.
Project MUSE
Currently, Project MUSE® offers nearly 200 quality journal titles from some 30 scholarly publishers. As one of the academic community’s primary electronic periodicals resources, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. Unlike JSTOR, the emphasis is on current periodical literature. Most journals included are not referenced back to their beginnings. Covers several jounals in African/African American Studies, plus Black Music Research Journal and Latin American Music Review.