Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
DRAM is a not-for-profit resource providing educational communities with on-demand streaming access to CD-quality audio (192kbps Mp4), complete original liner notes and essays from independent record labels and sound archives. Continuing in the tradition of DRAM's sister company New World Records, our primary focus is the preservation and dissemination of important recordings that have been neglected by the commercial marketplace, recordings that may otherwise become lost or forgotten. The touchstone of the DRAM collection is the diverse catalogue of American music represented by the New World Records and CRI label(s), which merged in 2007. From folk to opera, Native American to jazz, 19th century classical to early rock, musical theater, contemporary, electronic and beyond, New World has served composers, artists, students and the general public since its inception in 1975 with a grant from the Rockefeller Foundation. The acquisiton of CRI deepened its catalog of contemporary American compositon and restored to circulation recordings that had, in some cases, been out of print for decades. Includes numerous African American composers and performers.
The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives. Recordings in the Jukebox were issued on record labels now owned by Sony Music Entertainment, which has granted the Library of Congress a gratis license to stream acoustical recordings.
At launch, the Jukebox includes more than 10,000 recordings made by the Victor Talking Machine Company between 1901 and 1925. Jukebox content will be increased regularly, with additional Victor recordings and acoustically recorded titles made by other Sony-owned U.S. labels, including Columbia, OKeh, and others.
Ethographic Video Online Series
Ethnographic Video Online brings together over 2,000 hours of documentaries, primary-source footage, and select feature films for the visual study of human culture and behavior, all in one user-friendly online interface. Global in scope, this multi-volume resource contains video footage from every continent and hundreds of cultures, including an intensive focus on indigenous perspectives and points of view. As well as bringing together the most frequently assigned films in anthropology, ethnography, and social psychology courses, the series exposes students to both foundational scholarship to be viewed and critiqued within its historical context, as well as contemporary voices that can offer an opposing or alternative interpretation of that scholarship and add a new perspective. In addition, content is featured from ethnographic film festivals and the leading academic programs in visual anthropology around the world. Contains many videos of African and African-diaspora musicians.
Dance Online: Dance in Video
Dance Online: Dance in Video provides this key need for today’s dance students by providing 900 hours of video content covering the full scope of 20th and 21st century dance. The collection includes performances, documentaries, interviews, and instructional videos from the most influential performers and companies. The diverse content supports a wide range of courses, from dance history and dance appreciation to choreography, dance composition, and improvisation. Contains videos of African and African-diaspora dance traditions, plus footage of work by African American choreographers.