Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Digital Resources for Musicology
Digital Resources in Musicology (DRM) is organized topically and provides a rapid search tool for specialties within heterogeneous collections. Neither the links nor their descriptions are exhaustive.
American Musicological Society
The American Musicological Society was founded in 1934 as a non-profit organization to advance "research in the various fields of music as a branch of learning and scholarship," a mission that has since evolved to include teaching and learning about music in addition to research. At present, 3,500 individual members and 1,000 institutional subscribers from forty nations are on the rolls of the Society.
VIFA Musik: Virtual Library of Musicology
ViFaMusik is part of the project "Specialized Information Services Musicology" which is funded by the German Research Foundation. ViFaMusik, the central portal for music and musicology, allows you to access an extensive digital library containing the latest scholarly research and online resources. Using a single search engine you can find bibliographical data, full text data, and information about experts in musicology. ViFaMusik is “work in progress” and is continuously being extended.
A guide to more than 8,000 music-related print and internet resources.
Musical Instrument Museums Online
The world's largest freely accessible database for information on musical instruments held in public collections. The database now contains the records of 75305 instruments.
Western historical musicology
Bach Bibliography project has the following aim: to make available to scholars free access to the most up-to-date and most comprehensive bibliography for Bach studies.
CANTUS: a database of Latin Medieval Chant
Cantus is a database of the Latin chants found in over 140 manuscripts and early printed books. This searchable digital archive holds inventories of primarily antiphoners and breviaries from medieval Europe; these are the main sources for the music sung in the Latin liturgical Office.
Digital Image Archive of Medieval Music (DIAMM)
DIAMM (the Digital Image Archive of Medieval Music) is a leading resource for the study of medieval manuscripts, presenting images and metadata for thousands of manuscripts on this website. Also contains scholarly resources and editions, undertakes digital restoration of damaged manuscripts and documents, publishes high-quality facsimiles, and offers consulting services.
Early Music Instrument Database
Includes identification, description, iconography, and audio samples of medieval, Renaissance, and Baroque musical instruments.
Medieval Music Database
Its current scope covers all of the music of the fourteenth century and all liturgical chant currently electronically indexed, adding to these links transcriptions with modern music notation (where melodic information is available),original manuscripts where possible and links to the electronic editions themselves.
The catalogue indexes manuscripts and printed anthologies produced between 1475 and 1600. It
contains an estimated 33,000 motet and Mass Proper appearances
music21: a toolkit for computer-aided musicology
Music21 is a Python-based toolkit for computer-aided musicology. People use music21 to answer questions from musicology using computers, to study large datasets of music, to generate musical examples, to teach fundamentals of music theory, to edit musical notation, study music and the brain, and to compose music (both algorithmically and directly).
The American Folklife Center
Library of Congress collection of ethnographic resources related to folklore, anthropology, ethnomusicology, and the humanities.
eHRAF World Cultures
eHRAF World Cultures and eHRAF Archaeology are online databases that contain information on present and past aspects of cultural and social life. The member-supported, annually growing eHRAF databases are organized by cultures and/or archaeological traditions.
EVIA Digital Archive
The EVIA Digital Archive Project is a collaborative endeavor to create a digital archive of ethnographic field video for use by scholars and instructors. Funded since 2001 by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation with significant contributions from Indiana University and the University of Michigan, the Project has been developed through the joint efforts of ethnographic scholars, archivists, librarians, technologists, and legal experts. Beyond the primary mission of digitally preserving ethnographic field video, the EVIA Project has also invested significantly in the creation of software and systems for the annotation, discovery, playback, peer review, and scholarly publication of video and accompanying descriptions.
Society for Ethnomusicology
SEM is a U.S.-based organization with an international membership of over 1800 individuals dedicated to the study of all forms of music from diverse humanistic and social scientific perspectives.
World Music Central
World Music Central is an online magazine dedicated to World Music. It features the latest international news, CD and concert reviews, articles, and many resources (in the form of a wiki) for music fans, industry professionals and researchers. Our definition of World Music includes traditional and contemporary folk and roots music from the entire globe, as well as cross-cultural fusions and hybrids.