LibGuides: *Sibley Music Library Guides: Home

Sibley Music Library

Location and Hours

Location:

Miller Center, 27 Gibbs St.

across the street from Eastman School of Music

2nd – 4th floors
Phone (Library Office): 585-274-1350
Phone (Reference): 585-274-1320
Phone (Special Collections): 585-274-1335
Phone (Circulation Desk): 585-274-1300
Fax: 585-274-1380
https://www.esm.rochester.edu/sibley/

Hours During School Terms

Monday – Thursday 8:00 a.m. – 11:00 p.m.
Friday 8:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Saturday 10:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Sunday 1:00 p.m. – 11:00 p.m.

Interlibrary Loan

Can't find what you need in the Sibley/UR collection? You can request to borrow an item from other world-wide libraries using ILLiad, an online Interlibrary Loan service available for students, faculty and staff with a current NetID.

Find items in WorldCat, then click the Sibley ILL link at the top of the record. If you need assistance, please ask at the Reference Desk.

Recommend a Purchase

You can recommend purchases of scores, audio/video recordings, or books. Please notify Music Librarian Jon Sauceda with recommended titles.

Writing/Citation

Eastman Writing Center The Eastman Writing Center offers individual consultation and workshops to help students develop as writers during their time at Eastman. Experienced writing consultants are available to help students develop strategies for writing that will help them with academic coursework as well as other types of writing that musicians may experience. Consultants can work with students on any kind of writing, from academic writing, public speaking and lecture-recitals, to graduate school applications, resumes and cover letters, grant applications, biographies, proposals and personal statements

Copyright

Moser on Music Copyright by Course PTR Development Staff; David J. Moser

Call Number: ML3790.M675 M6

ISBN: 1598631438

Publication Date: 2006-02-06
Music and Copyright by Ronald S. Rosen; Ronald Rosen

Call Number: ML70.R67 M8

ISBN: 9780195338362

Publication Date: 2008-10-27

Scores

Sibley Digital Scores
Scores and books in the public domain. Many of these are unique to the Sibley Music Library collection.
IMSLP/Petrucci Music Library
The ultimate goal of the IMSLP is to gather all public domain music scores, in addition to the music scores of all contemporary composers (or their estates) who wish to release them to the public free of charge.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Here are some online resources that will assist in performing music research. These all require login with a current NetID and password.

Oxford Music Online
Oxford Music Online is the access point for Oxford music reference subscriptions and products online. These include:
* New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
* New Grove Dictionary of American Music
* New Grove Dictionary of Opera
* New Grove Dictionary of Jazz,
* New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments
* Oxford Dictionary of Music
* Oxford Companion to Music
MGG Online
Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart (MGG) is a general encyclopedia of music, entirely in German. MGG is encyclopedic in the true sense of that term: it offers in-depth articles on every aspect of music as well as many related areas such as literature, philosophy, and visual arts. MGG Online contains the second print edition of MGG, published from 1994 to 2008, as well as current, continuous online updates and additions
Harvard Dictionary of Music
Wide ranging and reliable, this treasure trove includes entries on all the styles and forms in Western music; comprehensive articles on the music of Africa, Asia, Latin America, and the Near East; descriptions of instruments enriched by historical background; and articles that reflect today's beat, including popular music, jazz, and rock.
Brittanica Academic (Encyclopedia Brittanica)
The rich combination of the venerable Encyclopaedia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools provides the variety of reliable sources that students need to consult when conducting thorough collegiate research
Written by Nobel laureates, historians, curators, professors, and other notable experts
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is the first comprehensive online resource devoted to music of all the world’s peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music. The Encyclopedia includes audio and video examples via playlists, which are themed collections of materials and can be created by any user of the database. Users can create playlists containing whole videos, tracks, segments (clips) and/or other items such as links to any URL. Playlists can be annotated, edited, copied, shared, and all playlists contain their own unique static URL. Playlists can be used as lists of personal favorites, class viewing/listening assignments, or as a teaching resource for in-class use.

Finding Articles

These are chiefly full-text article resources. They all require login with a current NetID and password.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Produced by Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale, Inc. (RILM), RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text (RAFT) enhances the bibliography of writings on music provided by RILM Abstracts with the addition of approximately one million pages of full-text content from more than 200 periodicals from 50 countries in 40 languages, published from the early 20th century to the present (many of which are not found in our other full-text offerings). Most coverage commences with the first issue of the journal and includes cover-to-cover full text for every included title. Therefore, in addition to scholarly articles and reviews, the database includes obituaries, editorials, correspondence, advertisements, news items, and more. Coverage of Conference Proceedings goes back to 1835.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a cooperative venture among 1400 international libraries and publishers to provide full-text access to older scholarly journals. The most recent year of a particular journal is not covered, but those journals that are included have full text accessibility back to their respective origins. At the moment, no music-specific journals are included, but that will be changing in the future. Users will find an astonishing number of scholarly articles about musical topics that have been published in the hundreds of non-music journals and books indexed. Further, there are 72 music-specific journals for which coverage is provided.
Wilson Omni-File
JSTOR is a cooperative venture among 1400 international libraries and publishers to provide full-text access to older scholarly journals. The most recent year of a particular journal is not covered, but those journals that are included have full text accessibility back to their respective origins. At the moment, no music-specific journals are included, but that will be changing in the future. Users will find an astonishing number of scholarly articles about musical topics that have been published in the hundreds of non-music journals and books indexed. Further, there are 72 music-specific journals for which coverage is provided.
ProQuest
Indexes (1982-current) and abstracts (1984-current) with some full text (1994-current), periodicals from these databases: Education Abstracts, Readers’ Guide Abstracts, Social Sciences Abstracts, Humanities Abstracts, General Science Abstracts and Wilson Business Abstracts. Includes full text from these databases when available: Applied Science & Technology Abstracts, Art Abstracts, Biological & Agricultural Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, Library Literature & Information Science Index.
Music Index
The Music Index: A Subject-Author Guide to Music Periodical Literature is compiled from over 655 international music periodicals offering the researcher access to a wealth of historiographic, ethnographic, and musicological data. A broad range of subjects is covered, including past and present personalities, the history of music, forms and types of music, musical instruments from the earliest times to modern electronic instruments, plus computer produced music. In addition, book reviews, reviews of music recordings, tapes, and performances are indexed. First performances and obituaries are noted.
RIPM (Répertoire International De La Presse Musicale) (1800-1900)*
Répertoire International De La Presse Musicale (International Inventory Of The Musical Press) is one of four international cooperative bibliographic undertakings in music, alongside Le Répertoire international des sources musicales (RISM), Le Répertoire international de littérature musicale (RILM, above), and Le Répertoire international d’iconographie musicale (RIdIM). RIPM indexes only 19th century periodicals, but in a much more scholarly way than any other index. This multi-lingual index has been appearing as separate paper indexes since 1988, but this online index collocates what had become a somewhat unwieldy index at over 150 volumes. The hard copy volumes are still kept in Reference (ML128.P24 R24 and then alphabetical by title of the individual journal indexed).
NexusUni
NexisUni allows online, full-text access to many of the world’s most important newspapers, including the New York Times, The Times (London), The Washington Post, The Los Angeles Times, The Boston Globe, and many others.

Audio and Video Streaming

Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library[NML] is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 137,540 CDs with more than 2,129,100 tracks of both standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CDs are added to the library every month.
The library offers the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues plus the complete catalogues or selected titles from over 650 record la bels, with more labels joining every month. Along with classical music, jazz, world, and pop/rock are also represented.
Naxos Jazz
The jazz/R&B/roots music portion of the catalog comprises the Fantasy group of labels (Pablo, Original Jazz Classics, Prestige, Milestone, Stax/Volt, Riverside, Jazzland, Specialty, Takoma, Kicking Mule, Debut, Contemporary/Good Time Jazz, Bluesville, and others).
Database of Recorded American Music (DRAM)
The Database of Recorded American Music (DRAM) is a not-for-profit streamed audio resource providing CD quality audio, complete and original liner notes and essays from New World Records, Composers Recordings, Inc. (CRI) and other important labels. DRAM offers on-demand, high-quality (192kbps/MP4) streaming access to complete works.
DRAM also includes music from a growing number of recording labels and archives. More than 4,000 albums' worth of recordings from a distinctive set of 42 independent labels and archives are now available, with new content being continuously added.
National Jukebox
The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives.
Dance Online: Dance in Music
Dance Online: Dance in Video contains dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.
Ethnographic Video Online
Ethnographic Video Online is a comprehensive online resource for the study of human culture, behavior and society around the world. The collections contain over 1,300 hours of streaming video, including ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork. It’s also a resource for a study of the discipline itself: By placing examples of traditional ethnographic methodologies alongside indigenous-made films representing previously overlooked perspectives, scholars, teachers and students of anthropology can gain a sense of the discipline’s history and of its future direction.

Dissertations

ProQuest Dissertations Full Text*
This database is the world’s most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. Note that not all institutions submit DMA dissertations.
Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology
Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology (DDM) is an international database of bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology, as well as in related musical, scientific, and humanistic disciplines. Currently containing over 14,000 records, including the corrected and updated contents of all earlier printed editions of Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology and supplements contributed from musicological centers throughout the world, the database is fully searchable. Please note that DDM does not include the dissertations themselves.
Eastman School of Music Dissertations
This collection contains Masters theses and doctoral dissertations that have been done at the Eastman School of Music. PhD dissertations since 1963 and DMA dissertations since 1970 have been sent to UMI and should be ordered from www.umi.com. These works are made available solely for the purposes of scholarship and criticism. Any further distribution without the copyright holder's permission is unlawful.

*Sibley Music Library Guides: Home

About this guide